Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-03-09 - 7:11 p.m.

I haven't written in a while so I thought I'd better get out about the last week while it's still fresh. We went out and bought a snow blower today so Scott is assembling the darn "no assembly required" parts. With several of his sockets. And a screwdriver. And a beer.

My boss decided to give Dr.S and I our contracts this week. Not the best timing, as he also decided we needed a consultant to come in and tell us how to do a better job charging people money. It would all be ok, except he added two clauses to my current contract.

# 1 - any money made on service charges incurred by pets that are boarding shall not go into my commission salary (meaning - if an animal gets sick, needs medical attention, vaccines, etc, while it's my shift and I treat it, I get no credit for it) and...

#2 - when he starts competing with himself by selling prescription meds through our website at a price lower than if you come into the clinic to buy them, I get no credit for prescribing them (meaning - I diagnose a disease and prescribe medication from it, the owner goes home and goes to the website instead, I get no credit). This isn't a real great marketing idea on his part anyway, but I can tell you now, if it goes through, I'm going to offer a written prescription for all my cliets to go to Walgreen's, Target, petmedexpress.com, etc rather than put money into his tight ass.

Enough about contracts. Unfortunately, I have to meet with him on Tuesday to discuss this crap. Again, unfortunately, my associate, who is even more livid than me, is not going first, because his balls in a sling would make my job a lot easier. We are collaborating on Monday night to get our acts together for the showdown to come. We have also both decided that should he not give on these two matters, we're done. I'll stick around through July, because then I'll make him send me to Nashville for a convention and as soon as I'm reimbursed, I'll hand him my letter of resignation.

The consultant turned out not-so-bad. I felt kind of sorry for her because she came on the day when we received our contracts. She had to sit through the most uncomfortable dinner while we made small talk and innuendos that our boss was an idiot. The day she critiqued me, though, I got through about the website thing so hopefully he won't even attempt to sell things that way. Even if it didn't piss your doctors off, it's not a good idea. Idiot.

I get to do a lot of decorating. YEAH! The church gave us some go ahead money so Karen At. and I made a list, checked it twice and on Wednesday are going to go get some carpet, drapes, price and possibly order some furniture and then redecorate the fellowship room. We're painting, moving stuff out, taking down crap on the walls. It's about time.

Last Thursday night was really awesome. The writer of our latest book club book, The Wavemaker II, is related distantly to one of the women in book club. She came and read the first chapter of the book, explained some things about it, and answered questions about her life and life as a writer in general. Mary Beth Hughes, the author, is a very interesting person. It was a great evening and she was very gracious.

Last night was SOTS (our wine-tasting club). Only seven of us showed as the weather is unbelievably crappy but it was a really fun group. We decided that we aren't great fans of any of the $10-20 bottles of Spanish wine from the Rioja region, but that the two wines from Portugal were ok. The appetizers were good and one lady made fondue - yum. It was Jeanne's b-day so Lori brought a scrumptious chocolate cake (however, it was more the consistency of fudge - now that's my kind of birthday cake!!).

Today was a long day of doing work (even though it's my weekend off, I have a very sick kitty in house so I stopped in to continue care and to plan for the weekend) and then church planning, which, although fun, still gets to be a long chore. Then off to the store to get a snowblower. That was an experience all on its own. The forklift guy was amazing getting the snow blowers down from the top shelf. Outside. On sheet ice. It took a while, but he did it. Kudos, Menard's guy.

Well, that's about it. My husband just walked in from putting together the snow blower but it's dark so he'll use it tomorrow instead. I'm deciding now whether to cook a little or just order a pizza. I also better get crackin' on that church bulletin for tomorrow.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!