Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-04-15 - 12:16 p.m.

Well, I've been bad about keeping up, haven't I?!! Kitchenlogic will take me off the list again (although I have noticed, I'm the only one on her list with a tailer - is it to draw attention or because the phrase "Winfield Beacon" is just too darn cute?

I don't know if I have a lot to say today or just a little, so I'll just type away and see what happens - how's that for an opener? Nothin' like ramblin' on for an hour.

I started the Atkins diet last week. I am not really into fad diets - this is the first one I've ever tried (don't tell Dr. Atkins I called his diet a fad diet). The theory seems pretty sound, but the lack of carbs seems not as reliable as a well-rounded diet. However, I think it may work for me because of the polycystic ovarian thing going on with me. Over the past few years it has been shown Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome (PCOS) is really a case of hyperinsulinemia. Since the low carb diets are geared towards reducing insulin levels in the bloodstream, and since visiting medical PCOS websites that suggest using them, I think I'll give it a go. I lost 8 pounds the first week so I think it will be ok. There sure is a lot of meat on this thing, though. That and nuts. One thing I will say - I don't seem to be as crabby and I don't seem to be hungry, two new things. Even with weight watchers and constant snacking on veggies and good stuff, I had way more cravings than this. Also, with weight watchers I could cheat a lot easier - with this, it's a bit like quitting smoking cold turkey (at least, that's how I'm doing it). So. We'll have to see.

Otherwise, life is life. We got a new game last week and that is one reason I've slacked off on the diary thing. I've also been busy with home stuff, beading stuff, church stuff and work stuff (including working an extra day here and there) so bad me, I let diary fall by the wayside. Don't worry, I'm back.

I can't wait for my bedroom furniture to arrive (it's been about 4 weeks so hopefully anytime in the next 2-3 weeks I should hear something). I need to get the stuff out of our house, and since the weather seems to be warming up - in the 80's today, if you can believe it! - then the motivation is there.

Well, like I said, not a lot. I've been really preoccupied with this diet thing and with decorating my house (I feel like I'm in a daze, some days - how's that for homonyms?) so I haven't been making near as many life observations as normal. More internal, ya know?

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!