Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-11 - 9:09 p.m.

Geez, it's been a long time. I seem to need a hiatus from this diary thing every spring (ok, so I've only been through two springs with this, but still...).

Speaking of hiatus, my friend, Dr. J, is supposed to be marrying Chicken Guy (I call him this because he owns a franchise of Popeye's Chicken, not because he's a coward - hell, he asked Dr. J to marry him and that must have taken some cahones, if you know what I mean). So I ask her, "Dr. J, have you gotten a dress yet?" (Keep in mind, the wedding is supposed to be in December, and for those of you who don't know, the type of upscale dress I'm sure she'll require will take at least six, if not eight, months to arrive. Then there's alterations...)

She answers, "No. I haven't done anything yet. I think I'll start in a month. I think I need a hiatus."

It took everything I had not to ask, "Is Chris' last name 'Hiatus'?"

Speaking of weddings, I went to one last weekend. Just so happens it was my sisters. Just so happens it was TERRIFIC. I had a great time (I think she did, too). She'd never been to Vegas - speaking of cahones, just up and getting married out there - but her fiance (now husband, Bud) liked it and as I've probably already mentioned, they would rather spend the money refinishing their basement.

Work has been busy. We hired a new manager and I thought things would go pretty well but unfortunately we just seem to be reorganizing space. Lots of new shelves (some of which are really bad - let's face it, if you need to put books on a shelf, the shelf should have a solid bottom, not slats). New slots on the walls for ingoing stuff and phone messages and other stuff. Lots of memos (there's only five doctors, surely a couple of well-timed verbal messages would suffice). Oh, well, I don't mind too much as long as I don't have to wear a golf shirt. My woman-sized bresteses would not look good in a polo - believe me, I've tried 'em on, took 'em right off again with a grimace, then a good laugh!

Only a few weeks until the Jumpasaurus Event (Jessica's wedding reception, to be precise!). Also, Snow Cone Machine!! On this new diet (which is going quite well, mind you - I love meat) I'm not supposed to eat sugar, but I think even Doc Atkins would succumb to his sister's wedding reception (I'll be pretty good, it IS a barbeque after all) and the cake and sno-cones available.

Well, enough catching up - I'm starting to drag on and I have to do the church bulletin tonight, too. I'll probably be much more faithful for a while.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!