Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-03 - 1:37 p.m.

Well, today is supposed to be my day off. I had guys come and measure the hallway to determine if I could have an armoire, entertainment center or have to settle with a dresser with the tv on top of it. Yep, tv on a dresser won out. Stupid hallway.

On a better note, I found at least three places to send my resume to (I know, bad grammar, but that's how I talk, and since I type this thing while saying it out loud in my head, bad grammar is what you get). I'll make copies of it after I'm done here and ship them off. We'll see, we'll see...

I had lunch with my hubby and a friend of his, who professes to hate his job more than me, but I sincerely doubt it. I dread going in to work each day, and the stress wears on me. I feel like eating everything in sight, esp the bread products I'm not supposed to be eating. I have lost 20 pounds at this point, though, according to the scale today, so I don't want to blow it.

So....

I have to kill a dog this afternoon. That's what I meant about not really having the day off. I'm going to a person's house at five to euthanize their pet. I really don't like house visits. Too many things out of my control - especially the lighting. I hope they have the dog in a well lit room, because hitting a vein in the dark is not an easy task. I don't really have tomorrow off, either, because it's my holiday to walk through the clinics and make sure the kennel kids did their job. I also have to go in to the other clinic to check on a cat of Dr. S's - of course, on her holiday she threw a fit about coming in to take care of two diabetic cats, but on anyone else's holiday she can stick us with a boarding, yes, I repeat, boarding animal care. It's not even sick, the owners just couldn't come in to pick it up because they're out of town. Nice. Very nice. You see why I must leave this job.

Let me list reasons for myself in case I forget:

1. Greed. Between the money-grubbing attitude of my employer and Dr.S, I am sick of greed being the basis of our business.

2. Dominatrix - our office manager's policy, out of her own mouth, is "Ask for forgiveness, not permission"

3. Hours. I am tired of working every other Saturday, and having my boss feel like he's granting us the moon for doing so.

4. Staff. They're all unhappy, and while this is related directly back to numbers one and two, it's still difficult to work with everyone complaining 24/7. The noncomplainers are all looking for new jobs, so then I'll only have the squeaky wheels.

5. No rewards that are nonmonetary. I work on commission, so I basically make my own money. Do I ever hear any kind of progress report from my boss, good or bad? No. Performance reviews, even a simple "Good job" every once in a while, mean a lot to me.

Well, this is making me tense, and frankly, I like to use this diary to unwind and vent a little, so I'll stop there and vent more later. Besides, I need to go update my resume.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!