Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-22 - 12:55 p.m.

I would have typed a lot this weekend but I couldn't log on - my husband decided to install windows XP. While it did clean up a lot of the computer messes I've been having lately, it messed up a few things.

I'm back, though. Literally. I just got back last week from Nashville, TN. The Grand Ol' Opry and home of a lot of country music, and bluegrass, and new wave stuff, and western, and rockabilly, etc, etc, etc. It is both cool and wearying about Nashville - there is music everywhere and everyone you meet is in the business or was in the business.

The hotel sucked. Any of you who plan to stay in Nashville, unless your convention is stationed at the Gaylord (seems like a bad name in redneckland) Opryland Convention Center, don't stay at that hotel (even if it is, stay at the radisson across the street). It is the most difficult-to-navigate place I've ever been in. Including the large Vegas hotels. It's not a good sign when the desk clerk (all of whom were from India) gives you a map to get you to your room.

The convention itself was ok. Good continuing education. The family night thing was so incredibly hot - they had a picnic outside in the hottest, humidest weather on earth, short of the rain forest. It made the Grand Old Opry show of Charlie Pride seem fantastic, if only for the air conditioning. He actually put on a pretty good show, especially for his age.

I have decided to get a new job. I think I mentioned this last week but I'm too lazy to go back and read what I've already written, so I'll just talk about it some more. I learned about ultrasound machines and costs in Nashville and I think that is a feasible option, although I have a job interview Wednesday at a clinic less than a mile from my home so if that goes through I'll just move my general practitioner asski up the street. It is also about 2 minutes from Scott's office so we could conceivably have lunch together from time to time. Cool, huh?

I have the latter part of this week off to clean my house and the VietNam Vets have already been notified to come pick up my junk. Hooray!

Well, I've got to get back to work.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!