Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-04 - 12:20 p.m.

Well, I don't know if my current boss is going to turn out to be a jerk or not. I turned in my Nashville expenses a few days before I resigned (I know, the epitome of class) and Friday when I came in I had a check waiting for the airline reimbursement but not the hotel. About a thousand dollars short, big guy. A few points on the subject:

1. My contract does not specify prorating continuing education. I get reimbursed no matter what time of year I take it, leading to point...

2. Do I really think, that if I had been planning to do my continuing education in November but quit in August, I would be getting a check for half of that trip? No? I thought not, therefore...

My boss has one week to come up with cash. If on Thursday I don't walk in to see a check, and then when I ask about it, my boss refuses to pay, I am taking one of two actions (likely the second).

1. Take him to court

2. Say, "If you are unwilling to honor the contract agreement, then so am I and tomorrow will be my last day of work as I am cashing in my vacation and personal days (and even then I'll have some to spare, we just don't get paid for it)" The clincher, too, is that I'll have to tell him how disappointed I am in him, that I thought he was a bigger person than that, and that I was willing to do the right thing, etc.... My boss is a pushover for people telling him he's less than expected. He gets defensive if you act accusatory, but disappointed, man, he's not so good with.

Now that all of that is off my chest, yesterday Scott and I went to see Signs. Great movie, scared the pants off me. Geez, was I scared. Suspense, scary. That's all I'll say, because to talk more would give a lot of it away. However, I can say that the script, while making you tense, was great at adding some humor to relax you every once in a while. Two thumbs up, way up.

Today was church and tomorrow back to the grindstone. So much shit to accomplish in so little time. Oh, well.

Now that I have wasted some time, waiting for my husband to stop playing on the computer, we're off to the grocery store and to get some taller stakes for the tomatoes and tomatillos (aka the alien life vegetation that has taken over the garden, with a little help from SuperSquash).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!