Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-07 - 3:39 p.m.

Dear lord, Uncle Bob is funny. If you haven't been to his diary, you should go. Seriously. The guy is funny.

Well, it turns out my boss is going to keep me for the month. I asked him today about the missing check and he said, "You turned in your hotel stuff, too?" with a blank look on his face. So he's going to cut a check. Whew. I so did not want to leave on a bad note. Bonus, too, I found out he and the office manager are gone a lot of next week at a conference in Kansas City so that's even less days of having to work with him. Whoo-hooooo. Unless one of the two of them is planning on going crazy and opening fire on the office, like happened in California today - that is some messed up stuff. At the same time I'm seeing that news, Fox News flashes live to Chicago where some weirdo lit his bookbag on fire. You could see the American flag and a couple of rolls of toilet paper falling out of it. There was no sound on in the restaurant, so we had to read the closed captioning...

"So, Dave, do you think there was an explosive device in the backpack?"

"I don't know, John, but if there was I think it would have gone off by now. The shrapnel and glass flying would be really bad. Remember La Guardia? Those people were more wounded by the glass than by the device itself."

"Do you think this is some sort of terrorist attack?"

"I don't know."

I wonder where you scintillating conversationalists came from. Even the guy typing the closed captioning had to be muttering, "Idiots" to himself. On and on these two kept talking about it while they played the footage about a hundred times. Personally, I think the guy was just nuts. He mumbled a lot and said some bible stuff and, let's face it, he bothered to bring toilet paper in the bag. Even making a statement, it would burn up completely with little residue. At least the flag would probably partially survive. I kept wondering as well, where were the sprinklers? Shouldn't they kick on at some point. Even if they didn't, shouldn't someone pull out a fire extinguisher? They just kept taping the little fire and putting the guy down, cuffing him, leading him away - all the while the fire just keeps burning. If nothing else, the janitor assigned to get that burn stain off the marble is going to be pissed. Then he might bring a gun to work and...

Well, enough of that ranting. Obviously nothing in particular going on today. I got the second half of my crown put on today. No talk about the death penalty by my dentist and helper today, just about gardens and tomatoes. A much safer, kinder, gentler conversation, especially since I could talk for most of today's visit.

Well, I'm off to furniture shop with my friend. It may be great - I love to shop - or bad - she has to bring her sons along because her husband's out of town. Last time was a disaster at Applebee's - need I say more.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!