Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-17 - 1:57 p.m.

Last night I accidentally clicked on my own diary vs UncleBob's from another website. I didn't realize I hadn't added an entry in so long. Well, here's the week, then.

Last Sunday I had church (of course) and then a Staff-Parish meeting after. This is where the heads of some of the committees get together and go over things that will not be divulged to the rest of the congregation (ie - sexual harassment issues, pastor issues, payroll stuff, etc). This particular meeting was for making out our pastor's yearly evaluation, which will then be typed up for her, reviewed with her tomorrow and then sent to the district. It's weird grading your pastor. It's also weird getting together with a few other people that you see almost every week and then hear their perceptions of a person - especially when you don't agree about what they're saying. Our pastor got good grades, but still, weird. I'm glad it's almost over until next year.

Monday I went back to work - it's gotta be a full moon, soon. The weirdos are out. Tuesday, work, and Dominatrix (aka my office manager) was doing interviews all day for a new receptionist and assistant. The one chick she liked a lot came just before noon. I asked Dominatrix if it was the one with the dark hair. Yes. The one with the skull and crossbones hanging from her rearview mirror. Yes, but she talked a lot about her church and stuff. Still, skull and crossbones? Could you at least remove them while searching for a new job? I realize everyone should have the right to express themselves, but really, you know you're being judged by a brief interview, and the universal sign for pirates and poison seems somewhat incongruous with a clinic that takes care of puppies and kittens. Oh, well, maybe it was her boyfriend's truck.

Wednesday we cleaned the basement. Thursday the guy came to measure the basement so we can order our new wood laminate flooring. Friday he called and the floor has been ordered. Yippee! Unfortuneately it was a bigger room than I thought so it will cost some more, but not too much and it should be bee-yoo-tee-full when done. I can hardly wait.

On Friday (yesterday) before I got the increase in cost note from the floor people, I spent a bunch of money on stuff - man, I love to shop, sometimes. I bought some bead stuff at their warehouse sale. I bought a new comforter and shams and I bought a new cd player. Mind you, I didn't actually need any of this stuff, but it was calling my name and I had to answer!! After work I stopped at a client's house because she was having an art sale and I picked up a small picture and a nice piece of pottery.

Today I worked and this afternoon I am going to a wedding shower. Several of my coworkers are going (it's one of our coworkers getting married) and we've decided that if we have to play any stoopid games we suddenly will all need a cigarette. It doesn't matter that none of us smoke, it's the excuse we could come up with for leaving the room. No toilet paper brides for us!!

Tomorrow I have to sing in church and then have a meeting. Then I think I'll come home and lift the tomato plants off the ground and retie them - they're huge. I had to get taller stakes. They're finally turning red as well. So cool, man. I like gardening!

Well, I have to go wrap a gift for this thing.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!