Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-03 - 8:26 a.m.

What a long weekend. It feels like it was four years long. Yet, I wish I could have it all back and I can't believe how fast it went!

Saturday we saw Les Mis. It's a great production. Supposedly the first reviews here in the cities weren't so good. I wonder if that is why every major character was replaced in the version I saw. They were wonderful. I laughed, I cried. We went with Scott's mom and two of her friends. One of her friends is an old lady who just gets out there and continues to do stuff. She was a fun date. The other one, who is likely 20 years younger, acted like the old lady. Go figure.

Sunday was church, then we went to a wedding in the afternoon and reception that evening. The reception was at the Science Museum, kind of a nice place for a reception. The food was ok but the cake was fabulous! Wow, good frosting, etc. We danced a little, drank a little, gossiped a whole bunch and overall had a good time.

Yesterday I got up and went to my friend's house to get all jealous of the stuff they've been doing. Her husband drove down to Iowa, picked up a couple thousand square feet of maple flooring from an old bakery, stripped and planed it, installed it throughout the entire first floor, sanded and sealed it. Let me say, it was worth the effort - bee-yoo-tee-full! She had her walls painted as well. Her husband is not so fond of the purple kitchen but I think it looks great (so do several people who have stopped by). My friend really likes the modern sort of look and that's what this will all end up as. I really like the olivy/sagey green she painted the living room. I might have to paint the lower floor of my home the same color if we ever get around to replacing the walls down here.

After visitation, I came home to pick up my husband and we went shopping. Book and then grocery. All I really wanted to do the rest of the day, then, was make food. What do I want to make? Lime pickles. Can I find lime (not the citrus fruit, the canning preserve stuff, comes in little white bags - my grandma probably still has some leftover from the seventies)? No, I can't find any. I'm going to try a couple of hardware stores and a Whole Food market today. Wish me luck. I was able to blanch a bunch of tomatoes and tomatillos to make salsa - pretty good stuff, too, I might say. I also made zucchini bread and casserole, although we're not growing any zucchini so I substituted longneck and patty pan squash. The casserole was a little mushy but the bread was dee-lish. I now know what to do with those patty pans instead of just grilling or frying them. I pickled some cuke-nuts, so I'm hoping they're good. The pickling juice (complements of Alton Brown) sure smelled and tasted good, so I did some regular cucumbers as well. I still want lime pickles, though. Maybe my grandma would mail me some lime - maybe not; it would probably leak and look like a pound of cocaine or anthrax. Oh, well.

Speaking of cocaine, I'd better get off to work - ha, ha, I'm not a crack ho, I just wanted to be Uncle Bob's wife for a second. I really had better get off to work, though.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!