Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-10 - 8:11 a.m.

It's coming! It's coming! The siding and windows people called yesterday and they are starting installation Thursday. I could wet my pants I'm so excited! The only downfall: they have to be able to get to the windows upstairs. That means a lot of furniture movin', folks. And yet, I'm so excited I could wet my pants!

My sister is home from the hospital after her West Nile scare and doing pretty good. She tried to overdo it a few days ago but she is recovering. I need to call her today to see if she went back to work.

I pickled my brains out last night. I made pickles for the women in my book club, as we are all meeting at the cabins in a few days. I hope they like 'em. I also made salsa. For any of you who read this and are in this club - the salsa is good, but a little watery, and all the tomatoes are from the garden. The jalapenos I had to buy but green peppers were available outside my door as well. For the pickles, I did have to supplement with cukes bought at the store, but I did have enough minicukes to make a jar to share. They are ok but I think I like the taste of regular cucumbers better. I figure I'll have about one more jar of minicukes before the season ends and I'll try making spicy pickles with them since these are bread and butter. We'll just have to see. And sorry, ladies, I was selfish and ate all the zucchini (aka patty pan squash) bread that we had. Scott loved it, too. It was a recipe out of the Nephew Quoyle cookbook - very tasty, Deb!

Enough private messages. I am off to work, soon. My boss is an ok guy, I think, but a little distracted. He is in the middle of a divorce (although he has not actually mentioned it, yet) and getting a new home and I think he just got a new vehicle. I barely work with the guy so it's kind of weird. I think we'll actually work more together starting next week but then I'm off to Europe - October it is, then. If he hires a new grad, I'm sure he'll hang around more. As it is, I work a full week, he works Monday morning, Tuesday surgery, Wednesday (my day off), Thursday at the other clinic. Then he filled in a couple of hours last Friday and I don't think he's working this one and he doesn't work on Saturdays. He must love having me around because he can go back to a lighter schedule. He is in the office, though, doing a bunch of administrative stuff, I assume. It's still kind of weird, though, after coming from workaholic sort of guy that I used to work for. I'm enjoying the more laid-back atmosphere, although it makes me feel kind of guilty.

Jeez, that's as much thought as I've put into anything here in a while. Slow down, brain, slow down.

On a lighter note - I LOVE the new floors in our basement, and again, let me say how much enjoyment we get out of the cats on little cat ice skates trying to play on the slippery floor. My husband found a laser pointer and they went nuts doing 180's and scrabbling across the floor. Hours of entertainment.

Well, I had better go get ready for work. Tonight I have a lot of readying to do. They're coming! I'm so excited I could wet my pants (except I'm wearing a skirt)!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!