Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-12 - 1:42 p.m.

They're here! They're here! To be technically correct, yesterday as I was leaving to go to lunch with my friend, the guy doing our house showed up. A day early mind you. A day earlier than the house would be ready to have windows removed from it. Uh-oh. Nope. He just wanted to start ripping off siding and see the windows to give the window guy a head's up before he showed up the next day. Cool. We had the little tour and then they started ripping off siding.

The guy who is in charge is a cousin of one of Scott's friends. Yeah, one of those, except he actually has a legitimate company and things seem to be done in a normal fashion. Yeah. His brother comes in from the Philippines every year to help during the summer (no, they're not Philippinos, they seem to be of some Eastern European descent, although the guy who lives most of the year in the Philippines has the greatest tan). Yesterday I got home from my lunch and he confessed that he stole a tomato from the garden. Mind you, he's a fiftyish very tan, very round man with his shirt off and his underwear tags showing (at least not crack) and it is about the cutest little statement, especially because he actually looked sheepish. Especially because he grows a lot of veggies in the Philippines, so he should know that anyone with as many tomato plants as we overcrowded our garden with can spare one or two. Or twenty.

Today I am home for lunch and the bee-yoo-ti-ful bay window is almost done, as is the gorgeous new patio door. I could cry, I am so pleased. The cats will be in heaven. They should finish those two things, as well as a couple of windows today, then the rest of the windows tomorrow.

Totally cool thing, too - my car, the one that needs a new water pump, is sitting outside. Yesterday when Russ and his brother show up to look at the house, I tell them the water pump story - we have a new car, now, blah, blah, blah - and tell him if he knows anyone who wants it, let me know and they can have it. He calls back later that afternoon and is going to take it off my hands. Whoopee. Not only that, but because it's otherwise in good shape, he is going to put a roof on our house for cost. I think I might be getting the better end of this deal, but if he calls back after taking the car, I'll offer to have it tuned up or whatever. The back wheels and battery were put in this summer, so it should be doing well. What a deal, what a deal. I am one satisfied camper.

Tomorrow I'm off to book club weekend. I won't be sleeping for the next week as all this stuff is going on. The weekend is shaping up well, except I found out my good friend, Deb, won't be going because her kids are having mental breakdowns. My heart goes out to her - these are true serious mental issues at her home and I hope things work out. I do feel that some parents use medication and psychiatrists overzealously. Not Deb - if she says it's a problem, I believe her. I'll miss her though. Her sense of humor runs so closely with mine, we just laugh and laugh. Thank goodness KitchenLogic is coming (not that the other ladies aren't a riot, but she's a ringleader of fun) so all is not lost (pause for dramatic sigh here).

Well, I had better get back to work. The sooner that's done, the sooner I can come home to gaze at my beautiful new windows. Just wait until it's all done next week and you have to hear me say on a daily basis how much I love my home!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!