Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-17 - 8:16 a.m.

I'm back from the cabins. Book club weekend is so much fun. I love those gals!! We canned our brains out (not literally, of course, or I couldn't still be writing this). We made two kinds of salsa, dilled green beans, pickled beets and asparagus, bread and butter cucumbers and... drum roll, please... lime pickles! Remember I told you I couldn't find lime in the Twin Cities - that's why I love these women - they found some for me. It's a strange recipe, and tonight I boil and can the cucumbers after their soaking, so we'll see how they turn out. If we did it right, they'll be a beautiful bright green color. If we did it wrong, well, I don't know what to change to make it right, but I'll still try again.

I also learned quite a bit about scrapbooking. I have a new project that involves buying supplies and gluing and sorting - I am thrilled, although I'm sure Scott won't have quite the enthusiasm I do. He will to a point, kind of like the whole beading thing, but then he'll bail. He'll like the finished product, though, I bet. I'm starting with our trip to Italy. Then I'll do a wedding one, I think, and possibly a Brazil trip one (much smaller project!).

Well, back to the old grindstone. I have to be off to work but I thought I'd get this in today while the weekend was fresh.

Oh, my sister is doing better. The tests still have not come back to say whether she had West Nile or not, but she was vomiting every time she rode in the car or started working on the computer. The doctor gave her some meds for motion sickness and she is feeling much better. She is going back to work and will be going to Nashville for a seminar this week - oh, joy, recovering in Honky-Tonk land. That's enough to give anyone a relapse. In all fairness, I liked Nashville pretty well except for the Gaylord Opryland Center. Hopefully she doesn't have to stay there. The maps of the floor layout will bring on another episode of motion sickness - take your pills with you, Jessica!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!