Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-20 - 7:38 p.m.

Thanks to everyone who left a message - it's pretty cool to get so much email. Sorry you had to get browbeaten by Kitchen Logic - she can be a real mom sometimes, can't she?!! I'm glad to hear she's feeling better.

Today was the day from hell at work. It's after seven now (normal day ends at six) and I'm just getting home. I have to go back in at midnight and again at six tomorrow morning to check on my little surgery dog. She had a severe uterine infection and if we hadn't performed surgery I don't think she would still be with us now. She is one sick little dog as it is. I hope she makes it through the night. Because of her, you all have to have a little soapbox discussion.

SPAY YOUR DOGS AND CATS!!!! The chances of mammary cancer drop over 80%. The chances of pyometra, a life-threatening infection of the uterus, ovarian and uterine cancer drop to nothing as those parts are not still there. Your dog will not get fat and lazy if you don't overfeed it - yes, you must realize that their hormones are not driving their metabolism and feed accordingly - after all, your grandmother can't eat a pizza and some hot dogs and some cake for dessert and not gain a few pounds, use some common sense, people!! And sorry, but they don't care about their sex life or being mothers - if it happens, fine, if it doesn't, they don't know it. They don't crave sex, they only have it twice yearly when their ovaries are crying, "Reproduce!" If you don't breed them, there's a really good chance that years of estrogen influence on the uterus without actually having puppies will result in a pus-filled, swollen, painful, infected uterus. Let me also tell you that surgery on these dogs is tricky and can have up to a 20% mortality rate - TWENTY PERCENT - do you think your dog will be the one out of five who doesn't make it? Do you even want to take that chance? OK, enough already. I just had to get that off my chance because a very sweet little dog is lying near death's door even as we speak and for no really good reason other than her owner thought she should keep her "female parts". Of course, as this woman is holistic, she felt the need to pump her dog full of yogurt and stuff over the last few days so she could vomit a lot with a sore abdomen. And yes, she visited her dog tonight and spread a bunch of oregano oil on the dog's blanket - maybe that's why I'm craving pizza.

There must be a full moon, the crazies have come out of the woodwork....

Don't say it, I could be one of them. Yeah, yeah, yeah.

The roofers came today - the shingles are off and tomorrow the new ones should be on. Yippee! Oh, I don't think they smoke a lot of dope, the head guy might but the guys actually doing the labor are just from another country - south of the border - and they're doing a good job.

Well, I am going to get some dinner and watch a little tv before going back to the clinic. I think I'll just nap tomorrow after work and then finish Scott's bathroom. Then move a little furniture if I feel like it and call it a day.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!