Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-21 - 9:24 p.m.

Well, I managed to piss away the weekend. Actually, I'm so damned tired I just crashed on the couch tonight, indulging in a decorating marathon with a couple of Trading Spaces and Designer's Challenge - two things that do not appear on our tv when Scott is home. It did inspire me to clean the basement and put some stuff away so if Scott's friend Rick needs to use the bathroom on the way home, I don't have to hide myself in shame. Homemaker, I am not. I love to decorate, but have chronic wasting disease when it comes to finishing projects. The 3/4" round did not get put in (I think it's a good project for my husband, who loves to measure and loves his little miter box - no, not a derogative name for me!!).

So, the little dog lived through the night. I still don't think she's doing well. Her owner insisted on taking her home this afternoon, so I loaded her up with fluids and antibiotics and sent her out the door, still groaning in pain but at least conscious. Her owner called to let me know that a little lavender oil on the towel Ginger was laying on put the little dog out like a light and she was resting comfortably on the couch at home. Good deal - I just want her to pull through this, because of or in spite of the holistic stuff.

No soapbox tonight, folks. I started archiving some entries last night and I seem to be going through a rather bleak spell at the time, much more entertaining when I started and about a year ago. Of course, I wasn't stressed from new home and job as well as health issues I feel no need to bore you with. That, or I could have been so excited for going to Italy that I couldn't contain myself.

I AM so excited that the roof is done. As you can probably tell, I let my contractors sort of guide me through this whole house thing - I had to ask today if the roof was supposed to be bumpy. Those of you who know what I'm talking about are chuckling a bit because I have a roof that mimicks cedar shakes a bit. It actually looks pretty good - goes with the whole pine tree thing we have going on one side of the house. The color matches, and that is all I care about. Frankly, I really need to get a mailbox and some lights for outside so I don't fall flat on my face. I finally got some mail today after three days because the front door was open so the mail lady could throw it in.

The siding is done, so are the windows and roof, and as soon as the gutter guys come (you're right, I'll never tire of that phrase; I need to work it into everyday speech some time) then we'll be in business.

On a side note - I love A&W diet cream soda. I think I could drink it every day. Weight Watchers got me started on finding drink that had no caffeine but wasn't caloric and wasn't water and damn! if there aren't a few good drinks out there. Root beer, all of the Diet Rite products, cream soda, the list goes on and on. I like some of the Crystal Lights, too, but some of them leave a weird dry powder on your dishes and that ain't right - what's it doing to your intestines. I don't need a roto rooter there, thank you very much.

Obviously I'm a little short on sleep. I had better finish up cleaning and then get to bed. Exciting day of church, pot luck, ad council meeting (which I have to run) and then Scott gets home. Busy day for a day off, but I only have to work three more days and then WE'RE OFF TO PARIS AND LONDON!!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!