Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-27 - 8:12 a.m.

So... I thought today we would start the vacation by sleeping in. Nope, my husband's stupid work made him come in today to do a few more things. Oh, well, there's always hours on the plane to catch up.

Our entertainment center comes today!! It should be beautiful and complete the downstairs rooms well. I'm so very happy. It's also the last piece of furniture we should have to purchase for a long time (unless you count mattress and box springs) so the delivery guys of the Twin Cities can breathe a sigh of relief.

The house is gorgeous - the gutter guys come today or Monday and then it's all over. Last night Scott and I looked through our entire house for the before pictures (actually, they're a couple of years old, but they show the orange very nicely). We couldn't find them. We found every other picture either one of us has ever had the pleasure of shooting (and some that can surely give NOONE pleasure looking) but no go. Sorry, Russ, we'll just have to catch ya' on the flip side! My rap for the day.

Any of you out there who love to laugh should run, not walk, to the video store or to your computers to purchase the Mr. Show videos. I am weak today because the last two nights we have spent watching these shows. I have to warn you, they are very politically incorrect (but in the right, irreverant way that makes it feel guilty but ok to laugh, if you know what I mean). There's also a lot of swearing (it IS HBO, for cryin' out loud). I suppose everyone has their own sense of humor as well, but if you like these, you and I have the same sense! Geez, they're great. Ok, enough of the free advertising.

Oh, one sad note - my little dog passed away. She never really got much better after coming in the second time and died in the night at home on Wednesday. I tried calling her owners but noone was home - my boss did some bloodwork on her and all of her organs were going into failure - with some of the results I think she may have even had some underlying disease besides the uterine infection, making it that much harder to recover. Moment of silence, little lady - look down on your mom and dad and take care of them.

Ok, enough sadness - tomorrow we go to Paris!!!!! Then London!!!!! No, I haven't packed, but I did spend an obscene amount (well, at least for me) of money on clothes and shoes a couple of days ago, and I made the list, checked it twice, gonna find out who's... wait, wrong season. Oh, yeah, made the list of things to take and I should be able to fit it all into the suitcase with a little room to spare for bringing home souvenirs. Ladies of bookclub, you know who you are, I will be in the land of Napoleon, whose personal insignia carried the bee on it, and since I am hosting the next bookclub and BEE is in the title, perhaps we'll see some bee souvenirs to take home. We'll see - my father has left us all of ten minutes of nonplanned activity, so I might forgo souvenirs from Paris to be able to go to the bathroom.

Well, I had better go straighten up my house a bit - my mother-in-law was supposed to come over today to see the new stuff on the outside and then go to lunch, but I think the in-laws will be coming tomorrow to take us to lunch and then the airport. That gives me a little more breathing room, but I still have a shitload to do. So, hasta la vista, baby. I will be gone for a week, but never fear, I'll write plenty more run-on sentences when I return. Sneak preview info - when I get back, I may have a brand new look (not in real life - I haven't changed my look in years, hmmm, maybe I should shave my head or something). The new look will be here if all works out. Keep your fingers crossed - you know how much machines love me!!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!