Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-05 - 6:35 p.m.

We're ba-ack! Yes, we have arrived from Paris and London and a brief, hour-long stay in Chicago this afternoon. It was great, although we were so ready to come home (I think the group as a whole was getting a little tired of each other).

Paris is beautiful - I realize I don't need to pass that on, it's been known for hundreds of years. I really like it, though, and hopefully will get back one day. When I went there in high school I never thought I would return and look, it did happen.

London was great, too, although a lot dirtier and grittier. I love the cabs, though, cabbies included. If I could have packed one up and brought 'em back, I would have.

I must say, traveling with your whole family is an experience in itself. Well, at least my family. We were THOSE people - you know, the ones who talk too loudly, can't keep up with the tour group, sneeze and cough a lot. In general, the ones everyone is looking at and thinking, "Who let THOSE people come along?"

We did get some rivalry for that position. Like on the tour bus of London. There was a woman with her daughter and husband. She insisted on riding on the upper half of the bus, which was primarily open air, except for the first four or five rows of seats in front. To keep her hair dry (from the eight rain drops that landed on us) she was sitting up front. To take pictures of every last living landmark in London, she tripped over all of us about eighteen times, usually in time to miss the picture - then of course trip back over us to sit under the glass again. Yes, she definitely won the 'THOSE people' prize that day!

Well, I'm really tired and seeing my husband laying around on the couch watching tv is too tempting an act to pass up. I'll catch up with more details.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!