Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-20 - 9:57 a.m.

It's been so long since I've written here, those of you holding your breath have long since expired!

Last weekend my parents came up again. We all went to see "The Producers". For those of you who have not seen the movie - run out now and find it, watch it, watch it again to catch the lines you missed when you were laughing. For those of you who are able to get to the theater and see the broadway show - run, don't walk, to the box office. It was TERRIFIC. I haven't laughed so hard for three hours in a long time. Dancing girls, dancing gay directors, dancing Nazis, dancing pigeons, need I say more?

We then had another fabulous dinner. I won't give the blow-by-blow details, but we took my parents to Aquavit (yes, I know, we were just there) and treated my mom because it was her birthday last week. Ah, what a great time!

This week has been back to the ol' grindstone. Work is work, although I must admit, it is much easier to go to work when people there are happy and when I don't have to be shoved into a tiny office with six other people.

Today I have to go get my book for next book club read. I've been kind of a slacker (I know that's hard for y'all to believe) and have been playing computer games and reading Sci-fi/Fantasy stuff instead of my required reads. It was a nice little break, though, so now back to the novels. I may not have said it here, but those who know me know that I love to read fiction, but so far most nonfiction does not pull me in, although watching stuff on tv seems to be ok - case in point, Scott and I watched two hours of Benjamin Franklin on PBS last night. Even enjoyed it.

Speaking of PBS, my parents loaned us their taping of "The Frontier House" or something like that. It is a few hours of reality tv, PBS style. Three families go out and live like they are settlers in Montana in 1863. This is the best reality tv I've seen so far. One of the families, the Clunes, has a dad who is a little bit of a whiner (Gordon) and one of the other families (the Glenn's) starts having disputes and actually starts calling each other names, including "You're such a Gordon!" I love it, I love it, I truly do!

Well, I suppose I should go work on my house a bit and clean myself up as well so I can head off to Barnes and Noble. How handy that it is right next to a mall. I might feel the need to shop a little. We'll see.

Oh, I almost forgot. I have a friend who is getting married December 21, let's call her Smitty. She is also known here as Dr. S, as I went to vet school with her and then we worked together the last several years. She has always been a little ashamed of her rural upbringing (as in, "I'm from Denver" - not mentioning the state because then people will think she's from a city, not a town of a few hundred). She would never admit such a thing, but let's face it, actions speak louder than words. I, on the other hand, have to admit at times being jealous of her thin frame and beautiful face, that when she walks in a room all the boys look. I have to tell you this because I now have to get a little petty. She is marrying a man who I don't think she really loves for anything but his money. She started dating him on the rebound about three years ago and got engaged last November when he forced her to listen to a proposal on a stage in town in front of an audience that included his entire family. She just got rid of her boyfriend on the side a couple of months ago. Nice, huh? My pettiness, though, is due to her invitations. We received them in the mail about a week ago. The return address is to the home where she and Popeye (as we'll refer to her fiance) are living right now. Cherry Hill Estate, she apparently calls it now, although I would likely call it a large split-level on Cherry Hill road in the midst of a lot of other homes just like it. Scott, being the jokester he is, had to ask if we live in Fort Sumter (we live on Sumter road). Clever boy. Sheesh, I've heard of putting on airs, but really, most of the people going to this thing have probably been to Popeye's home. They know it's not fancy-schmancy. Sorry, Smitty, it just won't fly.

Well, that was a boring rant, but I felt the need to get it out. I get a little tired of "We've been to this show, and that play, and that concert..." Especially when she doesn't seem to have much appreciation for art, just appreciation that she is seen at the functions themselves. It's a waste of good tickets - that's the pettiness right there. I'd better get my buttcheeks off to church and pray!

Well, I am going to church tonight for choir rehearsal, but not much praying takes place.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!