Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-22 - 12:56 p.m.

I must rise onto my soapbox once again. This time the message is...

Don't do surgery on your own animals unless you are a veterinarian. I think this should pertain to one's children and pediatric surgeon as well, but hey, that's just my opinion.

Yesterday I saw a dog that had been hit by a car. His owner's said it happened the night before, but the wounds looked a few days old to me. He seemed ok but for a large wound on the inside of his hind leg, down where our ankle would be. The wound that was down to the bone but that the owners decided they could fix themselves. Yep, a little fishing line and some sewing thread goes a long way, doesn't it. A long way towards infection and a serious breakdown of tissue. The dog must have been in shock when they did it, because I wouldn't have let ANYONE touch my leg until it was numb, had it been my leg. Long story short (too late for that?), I took out the sutures, cleaned and debrided the wound, sewed it back up and put the dog in a splint in the possibly vain hope that everything will heal back together like it should. Oh, yeah, and a major dose of antibiotics.

That's been the story of my life this week - it is definitely a full moon out.

I can't wait for this weekend. I have a boutique to attend, then off to a stupid, but blessedly short, church meeting and then off to the Mall of America for some Christmas shopping. If you can believe it, the mall was Scott's idea - I wonder what he really wants to check out there. He did say we could go see a movie after shopping - I think we'll see Harry Potter.

We finished watching the Frontier House specials. They were pretty darn good. None of the couples, when evaluated, were given high enough marks that they would likely survive the winter, but I think at least two of the families would have. One couple was told they would likely be able to physically survive, but that confined to a small cabin like they were, especially with a shotgun in reach, would likely see only part of the family making it through. Nice, huh?

Well, that's about all I have for today, besides a truckload of crappy stuff back at work. Where I'd better be heading off to right about now.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!