Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-10 - 7:52 p.m.

We're ba-ack! Christmas in Ft. Madison is an interesting time. Everyone in my immediate family (my mother, father and sister, that is) has decided that Scott needs to always be at family gatherings. He is the valium in our hectic world - allowing what should be major blowups to go unnoticed or at least toned down. Even when my new cousin-in-law Chuckie goes off to visit his mother, winds up drinking with some friends and gets pulled over by the cops - what happened then, you ask? The cop says, "Oh, it's your Xmas, why don't you call someone to get you and drive your car home."

Me, I'd have been in the slammer. Does Chuckie get screamed at, to the embarrassment of all of us there? Nope, he just gets picked up by his wife and my sister, driven home, fed and put in the game room. Out of sight and out of mind. In years past, without my husband present, we would have had WWIII happening. Wow.

I got a present (we each draw names) - a gift certificate to Barnes and Noble (score) and a couple of frames and hand towels (both very cute).

I also got to play vet this weekend. And they wonder why I don't show up to many family gatherings...

My aunt has a cat, Bo, who has fleas. I am checking out a lump he has when I see the little black dirt everywhere on his body and the fine powder dusting she has given him. Sorry, Bo, but I'll send you a product that actually works. My aunt is nuts, and we figure Bo's brother, Billie, jumped off the second floor balcony years ago (running away, since he scooted off, apparently unharmed) in an effort to either commit suicide or be free. Sorry, again Bo, that the courage gene only happened in your brother.

My cousin just got two new kittens for Xmas from his fiance. I find this funny (peculiar, not ha-ha) since I just met a kitty at my aunt's house that was left behind and that previously belonged to Barney (Fife, that is - yes, he's the security guard cousin, aka Mr. Pesty-pants). He has called twice in the last 24 hours to try to get me to:

1. Give him free stuff

2. Give him free stuff or

3. If not free, then at least a greatly reduced rate stuff.

I am not talking vaccines or exams - those are pretty inexpensive as I can give a free exam (it's just my time, after all) and vaccines aren't too bad. No, he wants neuters and declaws and wormings and other stuff. Sorry, Barney, but I just started working at this place and I can't just give stuff away. Besides, you have to drive an hour just to make it to my clinic, so you're just using me. If I thought you were doing this because you loved your kittens sooooo much and only trusted me, that would be another story (and if that was the case, you would likely be trying to pay me, not weasel every penny out of me you could). Ok, enough ranting. I don't mind taking care of people's pets, and I do like answering questions, but I don't like feeling used. Even if that's not Barney's goal, it sure feels that way.

I'm typing a lot now since Scott is out drinkin' with the boys. I hope he doesn't drive unless he gets some food and soberness back in him.

Well, that's about all I have for now. I must start making myself some dinner (therefore having a little sustenance for Drunk Boy as well) and then off to bed. Tomorrow is a cleaning day.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!