Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-18 - 1:51 p.m.

Ho-ho-ho!! I looooove Christmas time. I know a lot of people who get depressed around the holidays and such, but for me, Christmas is the bestest. The family (and I have a good one, that counts for a lot), the friends, the outings, the presents (I love to give and get), the songs (I love a good cheesy Christmas song!) the decorations, and on and on and on. I just feel good around this time of year. Of course, this year may be a little weird because it's raining, not snowing, here in the Twin Cities today. Walking in a Winter Mud-derland is more like it.

24 hours until my sister arrives from Chicago. Then another 24 until rehearsal dinner for Smitty and Popeye's wedding. Smitty had to call and let me know that she had to go and find a white mink coat to wear to the wedding over her gown. Now, I have to wonder, is this politically correct for a vet? I also must wonder, would it be bad to bring a can of red paint to the wedding? Just kidding, although red would match the bridesmaids dresses...

I found out last night that Smitty's boyfriend is still calling her.

"Does he know you're getting married this Saturday?" I asked her.

"Yes," she says. "I've told him when and where and all that to try to make him realize that it's really going to happen."

In my brain, I must wonder if this could be a Mrs. Robinson sort of wedding. I wouldn't miss it for the world. I love a good drama, especially if it's not happening to me. Also, one of my best friends from vet school will be there and I am totally looking forward to seeing him - he's a great dancer and all-around fun guy (you would understand my enjoyment of the dancing part if you could see all the males in my life and their paucity of dancing skills - yes, I just wanted to use that word, I hope I used it correctly and spelled it right, too!).

Today I operated on kitty (my husband has started calling her Mary Hoppins - is that cute or what). When I amputated her leg, you could see all the nerve damage - she would never have used that leg again, that's for sure. What a doll of a cat.

Now I must be off to clean - my sister is a clean-a-holic, so I don't have to be that clean; it would never be up to her standards. She does appreciate new sheets on her bed, though, and probably a clean bathroom makes anyone happier.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!