Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-02 - 7:04 p.m.

It's been one of those days. I even ran out of work a little early because if I had to do one more thing I might have exploded. That never looks very good (although we have the right kind of office to clean up such a mess).

So here's today:

I want to start surgery, but am waiting on bloodwork. So I say to my tech "Why don't we do that cat neuter; it'll only take a short time and then the bloodwork will be done and we can start on the dog surgery."

The cat neuter turned out to be more major than I thought, since he was cryptorchid (fancy term for only having one testicle descended - the other was in the abdomen - wait, after looking around the abdomen it turned out the other teste was in the groin area, buried under a mound of chub).

Next, the dental turns into not only cleaning teeth, but removing several and removing a lump as well.

Then I tried to spay a male kitty - it doesn't work, in case you were wondering.

I got a drop off appointment to recheck a kitty that wasn't eating, so I gave her some medicine and she started eating.

I had a couple of call-backs for things that were and weren't getting better, but that needed a lot of time on the phone.

All of this added up to me not getting out of there for lunch until 2:30, so I could go to the grocery store (which of course did not have all the ingredients I needed - next time I'll just go to Byerly's to begin with, instead of making it my second trip to the store of the day), run the groceries home, print off a bunch of stupid stuff for church, then run back to the clinic to euthanize a wonderful old dog.

Then I get a call that one of the kitties I spayed a couple of days ago chewed out her stitches. All I can say is, bless the other doc at the clinic, 'cuz she said "No problem" to staying to put in a couple of staples. Then I ran home (after making the aforementioned trip to the grocery store).

Unfortunately, my night is not over. At least I'm home and we have really good leftovers for dinner.

Speaking of which, I'd better go eat!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!