Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-20 - 6:45 p.m.

Apparently my husband feels that I should be an EQ junkie, too. He is out right now, getting a new sound card (he has already installed a new video card) for my computer. New speakers, too. I understand the speakers - when I turn the little volume knob, no volume changes occur. Apparently I need a new sound card because the driver is from Windows 98 and we have XP. I really have absoLUTEly no idea what that last sentence means. I am just repeating what I though Scott said to me - I might as well be speaking Japanese as Computerese. That works for me, though, so he can keep fixing it and I never have to know (at least at home) how to do these things. I find myself at work, though, sometimes frustrated as I see people doing things that won't work on the computer. I then find bits of knowledge leaking through and making me seem so much more computer savvy than should be possible for my brain (especially after watching that special on men/women and evolution). I like to treat the computer like I treat the garbage and the lawn-mowing: Scott's upkeep, not mine. He can defragment and switch sound and video stuff and whatnot, and as long as I can toodle around (apparently I'm liking the word toodle) then I'm doing ok. I will visit the site that a very nice person sent me to learn more about html skills. Scott doesn't seem to have time for this so I guess that'll be up to me. Hell, I figured out organic chemistry, this should be a piece of cake, right?

Possibly not, since I only have so much room in my brain and I think the organic chemistry part took up way too much of its fair share, right along with calculus, physics and biochemistry. Luckily, I knew biochem would likely never come in handy, so I learned a lot of it for the semester and then promptly flushed those memory cells to fill with other goodies - you know, like which bar has dollar pitchers on what night!!

Well, on that long note, I think I'll go. Scott will be home any minute and this is one of those nagging problems in his brain, so my computer will be out of service the rest of the night, I'm thinking. Did I mention on that schedule that men cannot multi-task? Apparently, a study was conducted (using slave labor college student volunteers) where a number of men and a number of women had to go (one at a time, of course) into a small room and perform 10 tasks in four minutes. The tasks were things like copy some papers on a copy machine, answer a phone, make microwave popcorn, answer the door, etc. The women completed all the tasks every time. Not one man completed all ten tasks. They videotaped it and I must admit, I got womanly chuckles watching a frustrated guy eyeing the copy machine, waiting in front of it for the final copy to come out while the phone rings and rings behind him!

Ok, now that I've done a little male bashing, I probably should go. I'll finish reading Dave Barry's Guide to Guys (I was laughing out loud in bed last night - go get it yourself and see what I mean!).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!