Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-02 - 8:37 p.m.

Last night was great! Scott and I joined some friends (Dr. D and hubby) and went to see Jesus Christ, Superstar. It starred Sebastian Bach (of Skid Row) as Jesus, and he actually did a good job - he was a hard rockin' Jesus and screeched the moneylenders right out of the temple! The voices were great, the story was good (although, as Scott said, we had already read the book so we knew the ending) and the acting not too shabby. Good choreography and Herod's act stole the show. I highly recommend it (although watching Mr. Show's "Jeepers Creepers, Semi-star should be a prerequisite). Aquavit, the restaurant we chose, was of course fabulous as always. We didn't have time to do the tasting menu, but we did have delicious food - I think dessert may have been the best. Last time we had a chocolate ganache that was combined with mango sorbet and salsa - this time they added a little espresso and bitter orange ice cream - too die for, I tell you!! We got two desserts (goodbye WW this week!!) and the second one was a yummy tiny brownie with chocolate sauce, paired with a banana ice cream sandwich (with the "bread" part being a praline cracker-like crisp). Wow. Yu-um!

Ok, enough on food - I'm sitting here slurping down veggie soup in a vain attempt to rectify the tremendous damage done over the past few days. Hopefully I don't gain back too much and with some good effort over the next few weeks, there should be a lot less of me, eh?

Today was good, too. Church was great - my very good pastor (who married Scott and I) was guest preaching today and I miss her a lot. She's such a mom and I love that about her. My current pastor is more like a great older sister. We also got to see several people who have either moved or switched churches since Kaye left - it was bittersweet.

This afternoon we played some online game time, making friends with some other guys, getting killed, regrouping and then getting disconnected. That was pretty much the sign to "call it a day" and go watch the Simpson's. Yes, we live the life of couch potatoes - have I ever tried to tell you different?!! So, Scott is out getting some exercise by shoveling the several inches we have accumulated already in an effort to reduce the amount of shoveling that will have to occur tomorrow. Bad, too, is the warm weather we had first, because that will make a nice sheen of ice underneath heavy, wet snow. Oh, joy, winter is here. It IS pretty, though...

Well, he's back in and I think we need some warmin' up on the couch.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!