Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-18 - 8:22 a.m.

Wow, I am sitting here in tears. Go to Uncle Bob's site if you want to know the reason why. Send him a hug today, he needs it.

Ok, now I am drying my eyes and moving on a bit.

Church meeting Sunday was pretty darn good. Other than the fact that we dawdle and talk a bit, it was informative, and for once a committee I am on is pretty much in total agreement. It's nice to have a bit of support when we all get bombarded by crotchety old treasurers!!

Yesterday was pretty normal, other than the fact that we had a lot more appointments than usual. Mostly normal things, though, and I think any time the kiddies are off school we get busier.

Today we're having lunch with Scott's friend from the gas station days. I like him ok, but he is a bit white-trasy (and I have lived in a trailer, so no comments from the peanut gallery). You know what I mean - always buying broken down things that one day will be fixed up and worth a lot, having a pit bull that was so mean the city made him euthanize it. Now he has a husky that is sweet, but knocked up by the other dog in the house because there wasn't any money to have them spayed or neutered. Now extra mouths to feed. The old car that is so souped up with equipment that it's worth more than the house full of stuff. Beer-drinking, fishin', tinkerin' around the house/yard/roof are main activities. Like I said, I like the guy, he actually works hard and so does his wife. It's just some of the tragedy wears on you from time to time. That, and he always asks vet questions about things I cannot fix.

"How do you know if your dog is pregnant?"

*large sigh from me* "If you're wondering, it's probably too late. You will know soon, though, because a dog's pregnancy is 63-67 days, so within a couple of months of getting preggers, she'll start getting big and dropping milk and having puppies."

Stuff like that. Especially since both dogs are under a year of age. Oh, yeah, and neither are registered but he thinks he can sell the puppies for some money, you know, help defray the cost of food for the dogs. Never mind that they aren't vaccinated or wormed, likely eating WalMart's brand of food since that is where his wife works (meaning the dogs are wandering in a nutritional wasteland). So the puppies will be poor doers and I'll get the call about them dying one by one. *another large sigh*

Ok, enough morbidness or whatever you want to call it. By the way, I DO realize at one point Consumer Reports said that Ol' Roy from Wal Mart was the best dog food for the money. People, there are limited, if any, requirements on pet food - very unlike FDA standards for people food - so chicken feet and chicken breast are all chicken on the label. You get what you pay for. You'll know, because the undigestible fiber and proteins you are putting in your dog or cat with low quality foods becomes large amounts of smelly poop. When you feed a good food (not a diet one, those are basically good food with a salad thrown in) the stuff that comes from the back end will be more compact and less pungent. Your pet's skin and hair coat will improve and they will have more energy and just have a better "look" to them. I can usually tell an animal on a good diet when they walk through my door. They live longer lives (hence the claims by "natural foods" that preservatives cause cancer - duh, if you live longer you're umpteen times more likely to get cancer - is it the food you eat or the fact that cell breakdown is more likely - again, duh). And don't get me started on "natural" raw meat diets. Yeah, how many wolves live a long, natural life. How many cases of diarrhea have I seen from that stuff? Enough said.

Geez, I thought I didn't have much to say this morning, but I've turned into a Chatty Cathy (hello to all my friends named Cathy:).

Well, I had better go get ready for work.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!