Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-05 - 5:05 p.m.

I am writing this in the little break I have today in the midst of running around town. Not my favorite activity (running around town, I actually like writing in my journal) but a necessary one today.

I am up to twenty pounds of weight loss. Go me!! I have to tell you, for all her whining, K.Lo. probably (actually, very likely) weighs half of what I do, therefore mathwise (and although my husband says girls are not good at math, I must beg to differ with myself as prime example) she is running with the pack for weight loss. I have to be good this week so that they don't take my star away.

Today at ww there was this cute little old man. He is a regular and is learning the ropes. Today was "bring a friend and get weighed and learn that your body mass index doesn't register on the scales handed out" day, sponsored by WW and the American Cancer Society. So our little vegetarian, bread-lovin', hippie necklace-wearin' senior citizen brought a couple of dates with him. As they were leaving, he told me congrats and I told him to keep up the good work. One of his little dates (imagine Gonzo with his brood here) spoke up and said, "I've lost six pounds just living with him." I wonder, did she lose that because they actually DO live together (although from his talking in earlier meetings I somehow got the impression that he wasn't married or with anyone, lived alone but in a senior complex sort of place), or did she lose because they are knockin' some boots (I know, gross to think of G-ma and G-pa gettin' it on) or is he courting and cooking light dinners for potential mates (again, unfortunately, we will get to knockin' boots if I keep along this line of thinking). No matter, they were adorable.

Now, on to another WW thought today. What cancer is caused by obesity? None that I can think of. Heart disease, yes. Arthritis? Check. Diabetes mellitus? Yep. Gall bladder disease, pancreatitis, gout? You betcha. Cancer? Again, not a single one comes to mind. I have to tell my weight leader, Tina, to not tell medical things during our little sessions as well or I might have to correct a few of her misstatements. Keep in the drill sergeant line, darlin', leave the medical stuff to the docs. I wonder why the American Heart Association didn't work their way into this instead. A great mystery...

Actually, I'm probably boring you to death.

I forgot to mention, in all of the excitement of my sister's pregnancy, that I lost my contact lens on Monday. Bummer, that. The only good thing is that I got to skip a little work on Monday to get an exam (yes, it had been a while) and my contacts come in later this week (no, I do not wear any sort of contact that is kept in stock - gas perms, must be ordered). It should be a good excuse to buy new glasses as well, and I believe Pearle has a buy one, get one free, so TWO cute glasses coming up! Yes, I must make this a shopping story.

Ok, running around - fasting blood sample this morning at nine, WW at 10, church choir at 11, lunch with minister and type bulletin insert at noon, grocery store on way home to buy last minute stuff to make dessert-like items for Ash Wednesday soup and sermon supper, cook said desserts (I hope they taste as good as they look - they came from Cooking Light recipes so I can have them), and now I must go change my clothes so that I can go back to church. Then home to hubby (and a little laundry and showering) and off to bed. Whew. So much for a day off, huh?

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!