Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-12 - 8:58 a.m.

From hot to cold! Totally opposite mood today in comparison to my last entry. Again, probably hormones (or possibly manic depression? - just kidding, I am not manic, and yes, I did live with a manic depressive person for a long time, so I think my mental capabilities are pretty good - muahahaha...).

Actually, I'm in a good mood because my tax stuff may just work out ok. I figure we lost the paperwork when we refinanced the house last summer, so I called the mortgage company and the guy I talked to is going to call the head office (somewhere in Mpls) and get them to send me a copy of last year's tax returns. Whoo-hoo. He said I should find out about it in a couple of days (meaning tomorrow) and if I don't hear from them you can bet your sweet patootie I'll be harassing, calling and calling and calling...

So, I think our tax stuff will happen, and on time, and by an actual accountant. That way I won't get a little letter like I did last year that read something along the lines of "you bumbling idiot, stop doing your own taxes if you're going to mess them up, it gives us IRS people a headache, and oh, by the way, your return is not as big as you thought it would be because..." (here I was instructed to return to the beginning of the sentence).

On a totally different note, the gossip from my old work is (drum roll here) Dominatrix is fired!! People are dancing in the streets (direct email quote from one friend) and singing with joy. For those of you who don't want to read through last summer's entries (and since I still am too much of a bumbling idiot to figure out that link stuff), Dominatrix is my old office manager, and one of the main reasons I left my old job. That and the way my boss just let her do everything she could to ruin the practice and treat the people there like shit. I got a call from a friend two nights ago, who had been talking to another partner at the clinic. Said partner relayed the message that Dominatrix was going to be fired the next day. Yes, I am a queen of gossip at times and am usually completely in the know. So, anyhoo, yesterday my other friend (the best tech in the world, who quit, without even having a new job, because of Dominatrix - that's how bad it was, seeing as this tech is not only the best tech in the world, but also known as Most Responsible Person) called to tell me about the firing (having heard from several of her friends who still work for my old clinic. My husband calls to tell me that a guy he works with (who dates another worker at previous clinic) came to tell him that Dominatrix was fired (can you tell I like that phrase very much). Last night, my friend in the know called to give me gory details.

My old boss is a schmuk. I don't think there's much doubt about that. Here's some added fuel for that fire. He, Dominatrix, and other partner (Dr.R) are all in a room, talking about firing. Dominatrix is crying, crying, "You didn't give me any guidance, I didn't know what you wanted, blah, blah, blah".

Old boss, "I know, but you just aren't performing up to the standards I want."

Dominatrix, "At least let me work through the end of school year so my grandson (who lives with Dominatrix) can finish out the year. It's not fair to him." Note: Old boss is already giving her a month of severance pay, and according to MN law, she'll then collect unemployment, so it's not like she'll have no income.

Old boss, "If you don't find a job in the next month, I'll give you an added month of severance pay." WHAT!! At least later, when Dr.R and Old boss are talking, he said, "I should never have said that." To which Dr.R replied, "I never heard you say anything." Good answer. Noone in their right mind would think he would say such a thing, so it would be his word against hers. With Dominatrix losing, might I add. Still, what a schmuk for letting those words escape to begin with. He also did not take away her key, her company credit card (although he remembered to call and cancel it later that afternoon) or the laptop that she uses to do all the books on. Idiot. She said she had personal stuff on it. So, Old boss, you sit with her right then and over her shoulder watch her download her personal stuff onto a disc and then take the computer (and her keys) away and help her carry her shit to the car. Sheesh, I've never even seen someone get fired but I have the common sense to know people can be out of their mind (especially an evil Dominatrix) and possibly get a bit vindictive.

Ok, enough rant. I have to get off to WW (although with the week I've had, if I don't gain weight I'll be happy!!) and then today is doctor visit for high blood pressure and tomorrow is doctor visit for u/s and consult - hopefully she says I can have a baby one day. Keep your fingers crossed for me. I don't just want to be an aunt (although, if you are new to reading this stuff, I'll fill you in - adoption is always an option!!).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!