Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-03 - 10:26 p.m.

Ok, another quick update. Today was a busy day at work. Luckily for me, the only dog that may have turned out to be an emergency was just really tired and had a seizure on the Humane Society Walk. People, I realize a little denial with older pets is to be expected, but a fourteen year old retriever who just does the old gentleman's shuffle through the park is not likely to be up for a five mile walk through town. No matter how good a charitable cause. It would have done my grandpa in - this dog is older (in dog years, of course) than my grandpa.

Just a heads up - I feel like rambling, and none of my subjects will likely flow from one to the next with any pleasant segues. And since Kitchen Logic is busy all the time (I must whine a bit here) and can't fix my header, footer, or handwalk me through my computer illiteracy (a monster of a task, I must admit, almost equal to that of categorizing Imelda's shoes) then you'll just have to bear with me. Apparently this is a run-on sentence day as well!

Scott and I did a lot of yard stuff today. Ok, Scott did a lot, I just weeded out my flower pots on the deck and helped hold lumber while he nailed in place some raised garden bed borders!! I am so excited (I just can't hide, oo-oo) but now the excruciating task of digging a little trench to secure the beds must start. Then the arduous task of adding dirt (mixed with mulch and peat moss and stuff) and finally the more pleasant task of placing my beautiful plants in their new respective homes. Oh, joy (I hope you're hearing Ren's voice as I say that phrase).

I did something very new today. I gave a HUMAN an injection. Before you start thinking I'm a bad shot (get some new contacts, girlfriend), I will confess that it was for a coworker who has MS. Her significant other is out of town (he normally gives it to her in the gluteus maximus) and she just can't do it herself (she could, she just chickens out over and over). Luckily for me, I got to give it to her in the arm, but unlucky for me, I actually had to give a HUMAN an injection. Since it went well and neither one of us fainted, it blows to hell the theory that I couldn't do what I do on people. What does that mean? Where do I go from here? Dear lord, what now? Ahhhhh! Just kidding folks. I had to be seated when this little episode occured (as did she) and I will never give another if I can avoid it. I've kinda always wanted to save the day by doing a tracheotomy with a pocketknife and a pen, though...

I talked to my mom and dad tonight. They just had their thirty-fourth anniversary and my sister has her first tomorrow. Did I mention yet that she's pregnant? Yes? Well, let me say it again - I GET TO BE AN AUNT! Whoo-hoo! Yes, I'll give bad treats and yes, I'll buy toys that make a lot of noise, and yes, I'll make sure that a little girl will love flowers and lace all in pink and purple (I can feel Jessica shudder even as I type) and I can hardly wait! Only about six more months to go, sigh.

Well, I should probably get to some church related stuff since I am head of ad council and we're having a meeting tomorrow. We're also having a pot luck, and although at first I thought I would make a chicken casserole, I decided that a salad it will be. Something I can eat, not feel guilty and enjoy. It will probably be too fancy for this little shindig (romaine mixed with pears, bleu cheese crumbles - though I may go light feta instead, ww doncha know - toasted pine nuts and fat free poppyseed dressing). I love it anyway. Then off to a movie. We want to see 'A Mighty Wind' or X-Men. Yeah, I know, not even close to the same genre, but we loved all the stuff the Mighty Wind cast has done before, and we loved the first X-men. We will be headed to the second Matrix as well.

Ok, enough babble. I'm off to do some church stuff, then off to bed.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!