Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-28 - 5:28 p.m.

I looked it up and it's been 8 days since I last wrote anything in this journal. 8 days! Time flies when you're busy. Between church, work, home stuff and just being pooped out, I have been a big slug.

Well, on the home front, we got the garden beds raised. My fabulous hubby installed the last one last night before I got home. Now all I need to do is put in the last of the plants and voila! We're in the garden business. They look terrific, and next time it rains, the poor little plants won't feel like building an ark.

On the work front - I freakin' hate the day after a holiday. Especially when my boss comes in, does some surgery, and takes off for the rest of the day. I said I liked this place and for the most part I do, but I am really sick of working until eight at night (which of course, yesterday, meant 'til nine since I had to write up all the damn charts as I ran my ass off during the day and had no time to write them up). I hate working by myself on Tuesday afternoons and seeing nothing but sick animals. I hate crazy people who will only see the doctor when a technician can show them the same thing, so they wait forever in the lobby. I shouldn't feel guilty about making them wait (they knew that I would have to squeeze them into a very full schedule, and I wasn't going to make regularly scheduled stuff wait) but I do. I don't like crabby people who schedule a recheck appointment on the day after a holiday (and no, this guy did not take an extra day off, his appt was after work) and then get upset that they had to wait any extra time (especially since our stupid scheduling system at work allows the same time for sick things as well as things that take about two seconds). Stupid people - bite me. Sorry, little bitter - maybe I need to vent a little more frequently - just what all of you come here to read!! Maybe I just need to get out of the vet business. I am tired of selling things, especially things that seem like common sense. Here's an example:

"Doc, check out this tick bite, I think I left the head in and what do I do now?"

"Well, it doesn't matter about the head, it will fall off with the scab - just watch the bite and make sure it doesn't become infected - you can use a little neosporin on it if you like. Would you like a good tick preventative for Sparky?"

"Well, I have a tick collar on him."

(Under my breath)"It's obviously working so well."

(Out loud)"Tick collars don't work if they aren't tight against the skin and if they get wet," as I push his wet, muddy labrador off me for the umpteenth time, "Why don't you let me get you a tube of Frontline or Advantix - they work for a month and Sparky can swim all he wants without ruining the efficacy." (Yes, I do hesitate at using such a big word).

Of course, now we must get into a discussion about cost. They are about 12-15 dollars per dose. Hartz, of course, sells one for about 3 dollars a dose. What he doesn't know is that Sparky can't get wet with the Hartz product, and he can get really sick. He'll also put some on his cat for good measure, making it really sick and then he'll end up spending about 400 dollars on vet care and wind up using the good stuff anyway. Oh, well. It just makes work really frustrating. I probably shouldn't rant about it here, but I dislike breeding stuff, too. I don't like having them as clients, I don't like being woken up to give advice about whelping dogs, I don't like their homemade cocktails and diets, I don't like them telling me my job - just because they and all their little breeder friends talked about some new medicine thing at the latest dog show. I just hate it. Sometimes I want to say the same thing about the internet. If you don't have confidence in what I'm telling you, move along. If you want to bitch about prices I tell you because you think I'm just gouging you for money, move along. I'm sick of it.

Oh, my, goodness. That was a long, ugly rant. I should probably delete it, but it's so long I doubt anyone gets to the end of it. Speaking of ending, I think I'll end this sorry ass journal entry now. I am going to make dinner and play computer games.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!