Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-08 - 3:36 p.m.

Wow, what a wedding! I had a terrific time! Here's a little weekend recap:

Before Friday morning - clean, clean, clean. My husband helped tremendously and went on a little quest of his own for the Guinness B of WR for the longest vacuuming time of a small space. Although the noise eventually drove me mad (hehehe) the carpet is glorious - to the point that after company left, he actually mourned over the fact that someone had tracked in a little dirt. Wow.

Friday - my mother, father, Uncle Dave, sister and sister's hubby all roll into town. Everone but my sister's hubby head down to the rehearsal so that Jessica (my sister) can sing with the church organist (think old lady and all the rather cliche things that go along with church organists - not quite as bad as Sixteen Candles, but then again...). At which time, the bride realizes what my sister had told my cousin (groom-to-be) all along, "This song will suck with just vocals and piano." Which it did. The first part of the song was pretty, but the second part was only acoustic guitar - nothing for a paltry organist to play but chords and no ability to improvise and fill in a bit with some real music. So... a little Hitler bride was born. All was happily solved, though, with Stevie Wonder coming to the rescue - "Overjoyed" is a very pretty song when my sister performs it.

Saturday, we all head down for the wedding. Have you been to a wedding with a newsletter? Now I have. Apparently there was not enough room in the program to put in all the thank yous and little wacky cartoons the bride and groom felt we needed. Things like "First Kiss: INCREDIBLE!!" or my personal favorite, "Meet the wedding party. Best man, Nathan W., cousin of the groom. The greatest memories that I experienced with Nathan were the nights that we stayed up playing Nintendo while our mothers played cards. Nathan taught a city boy how to have fun on the farm. From throwing dirt clods at the bull to chasing chickens with golf clubs, I always had a blast when it was time to visit.". Yeah, nothing says love like Arnie Palmer chicken episodes. News to Nathan's mom as well :)

Then came the reception. My cousin, a ten-year-old whose parents traveled the country in a trailer last year, got up and danced. By himself. For-freakin'-ever. More than one person was heard to say, "There's the poster boy for home schooling - just say no!". I laughed myself silly. I know I've said it before, but I must admit, I truly love going to a wedding where people (and by this I mean midwestern white people) get all happy and get out and dance. Especially since I can't resist joining them, much to my sister's and husband's chagrin!

We got up today and had a continental breakfast at the hotel with my family, then my sis, her hubby and my hubby hightailed it to the Mall of America to see what we could see. Actually, we saw Bruce, Almighty, an entertaining but not worth more than matinee price flick, ate a little Mall food and then I dropped them off at the airport.

Now I am home, have read all my journals, typed my own, have a clean house and a full tummy. Yep, I'll either be taking a nap or playing EQ with my husband (he keeps reminding me it's been a while, since the cleaning jag started!). I love a good, relaxing evening.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!