Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-06-30 - 7:41 p.m.

Heavens to Murgatroy! Are we at a full moon? What a day, what a damn day. It's not over yet, either.

Not much has been happenin' so I won't bore you with details of the last few days, just rant on and on about today.

First, last night my friend calls up to say, "Hey, want to take golf lessons with me and two other great gals?" I, of course, say, "Hooray! Yes! When?"

Unfortunately, Friday afternoon seems to be the only time we can get together. You wouldn't think asking for an hour off early, four times during the months of July and August would be that big of a deal, now would you? Especially since on Fridays I work at the slow clinic (as in, saw two, count 'em, two whole appointments early in the afternoon last week). I am informed today that my boss and office manager want the last appointment to be filled, and are willing to donate a share of such raised funds to the workers in an effort to fill that appointment.

What the f'n-A for? I hear them bitching about overtime and then they force overtime on their employees by making them stay late. Stuh-hoo, puh-hid!!!! I can tell you this right now (and although I am disappointed in golf, it is not coloring my decision). I do not support this change. As I see it, I can do one of two things - I can either undercut prices so much at that last appointment that the employees never want to book it for the extra two dollars they'll take home, or I can make sure that if they are keeping me late on a Friday night, it's going to be really late. Actually, I think I can do a little of both. They underestimate the sheer amount of time I can spend talking about the most trivial of problems. I can easily make us stay until past seven or so. Hell, we don't have a life, now do we?

It truly aggravates me that the last time this little issue was brought up, my boss said he wanted those appointments booked, but proceeded each time to have the receptionists call and reschedule because he didn't want to stay late. WTF? Again, say it with me, stuh-hoo, puh-hid!!

That was the first of the irritations. Second, I get asked by the receptionist if a person can schedule a dental procedure (requires anesthesia) over at the slow clinic some Friday for a client. I say, "Sure", figuring I'd mark off a forty minute slot and do a dental. No sweat. I get told a few minutes later that the office manager said no. WTF? So I ask who the client is. Yeah, it's a very good friend of mine who I see every six weeks for book club and have actually seen her dogs at her house! Yeah, I'm mad now. I call the office manager and ask WTF? She says she didn't want to mark off the time. I told her to do so and I would get the dental done in the proper amount of time. I also reminded her that I could do this over my lunch hour. I didn't tell her that I would have recommended my friend go to another friend who was more accomodating if my office manager hadn't given in. Sheesh, can I be accomodating to my clients, much less my friends? I was pissed. My boss had better not ask how I am tomorrow because I just might tell him.

To top it off, we are now having "Employee Appreciation Day" on Thursday with a little barbeque at work. Like that'll make up for me working this Saturday (and we have no appointments because the receptionists want to prove a point - go receptionists!!). Jeff and I plan on playing cards. One more chorus of stuh-hoo, puh-hid.

Then the afternoon from hell. Kitties with cancer. Practically comatose dogs with diabetes (same dog that had maggots about six weeks ago) - that I must go back into the clinic tonight to check on. I already told the owner he may not make it through the night so at least they are prepared. Telling other kitty owners about cancer spreading. Lots of bad ears and dirty, hairy beasts. At least every animal I saw today was nice. Better than my office manager at the moment.

On a totally different note, tomorrow we begin magic pill taking (that's what Scott calls the clomid - ovulation drugs). Then next Monday I see if they are working and then we get to try making babies if the pills do their job. Not a lot of stress in my life right now, is there?

Could be why I downed a bacon cheeseburger, fries and candy for lunch, followed by a delicious dinner of vietnamese takeout. Oh, yeah, one million points - and the winner is...

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!