Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-03 - 3:38 p.m.

Judas f'n priest, is it hot here today! I know, I know, some of you live in this stuff all the time (and even hotter) and love it. I don't know how you do it. I was at work, sweatin' to the oldies (ok, we were listening to the hip-hop station, but you get the picture) because today was Employee Appreciation Day for us. Our office manager and boss cooked lunch. They also bought a picnic table to have at work, and although I will never put it to good use as I pretty much hate the out-of-doors (too many bugs, heat and wind) the others were in seventh heaven. Good job, for once, my bosses. It was about a jillion degrees, though. Since I turn red at the mention of heat, a couple of other employees brought me wet napkins and such - they are so good to me.

The diabetic, maggoty dog is no longer with us. He couldn't regulate his sugars, even with the massive amounts of insulin I put into him. His mom, dad and their two children came to say goodbye last night and today gave the ok. I was glad the little girl was able to see him one more time instead of coming back from camp to have him gone. It was definitely for the best, but let me tell you, I am a little tired of being Dr. Death this week. I have put six animals to sleep in the last 48 hours and that is starting to wear on me. I hope nothing comes in on Saturday.

Last night I went for drinks and fajitas and nachos at Bar Abilene. I sat outside with two doctors I used to work with and we drank a lot of margaritas (I wish noone had ever told me the point values of them, now I still drink them but such guilt...). It was just what I needed. That and the easy-schmeezy day I had at work today. It had potential to be bad, since Dr. Cool Chick (I had to think up a name besides Dr. S - I work and worked with too many of those; it gets confusing) showed up about an hour and a half late. She had connected it in her head that we were closing early today, but not that she should be there earlier - like I said, it worked out ok since I only had to see a couple of very straight-forward appointments.

Ok, enough talk. I want to play a little on the computer, in the cool air conditioning that is my home. My hubby is on vacation next week (the lucky bastard) so I should also think up some projects, hmmm?

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!