Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-07-17 - 8:05 p.m.

Ok, on to better, happier days, right. I told you - I am not one to stay sad or mad for long (although I could cry a little more today with small amounts of provocation).

So, not much to report today, other than...

A crazy, crazy day of people at work. My work people are pretty normal (for the vet world, that is) but some of the clients...

My day was actually pretty normal until the very end. I was getting ready to leave the office when the receptionist called back to ask some euthanasia questions for a woman on Line 1. I said I would take the phone call and proceeded to talk to a sad woman about the process of euthanasia. I then asked, "Do you think it's getting to be time to say goodbye to your kitty?"

She replies, tearfully, "No, but he can't live without me and it's my time to go."

I then get asked how he would die if he was in the car in the garage with her, or if she gave him the same pills she was thinking about taking. Holy crap, batman, I didn't expect THIS phone call. I talked for a long time with her and finally got out that she had an older cat, was on disability, had relatives kicking her out and couldn't find a place to keep her cat for three weeks until she was able to move to her new home. Definite issues with this woman; definite health, mental and family issues. I got her to stick around for her cat (she didn't want to kill him) and talk to her doctor, some boarding facilities and hotels that would accept animals (even though it's wrong, sneak the cat into somewhere for three weeks - sheesh). Hopefully she listened. My husband says I should have called the police and he's right, but I just didn't think of it at the time and I suspect it's too late now. I will remember for next time. I do know that I could not be a psychiatrist or other type of counselor - whew!

Well, that's about it. With sad news yesterday I took it out in shopping (lots of clothes and shoes) but I stuck to things I really needed and it was a bit of a boost to fit into clothing and look better in it. And how I love shoes - damn, but I found some nice ones today (after hours of vainly searching yesterday) - cute and comfortable, can't beat that.

Well, I had better go make some dinner and finish getting ready to head for Denver at the crack of dawn on Saturday.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!