Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-04-28 - 8:24 a.m.

Hello, hello, hellooooooooo.....

Well, an entry before four months have passed; must be the season for miracles. Of course, I probably just jinxed any miracles coming my way by being ready for them, eh?

Church, church and more church. I have been there nonstop, it seems, for the last week. A gentleman in our tiny congregation passed away last week, and the church was full on Friday with people saying goodbye. He was a decorated WWII vet and, being Japanese, had a passion for correcting injustice - he was very active in Japanese-American groups getting benefits for servicemen and such. His family had been in concentration camps. He had been published in magazines and history books and he has been interviewed for tv specials. What an interesting man, and he has a wonderful family that obviously adored him. His wife is one of the cutest women I have ever met, not to mention one of the nicest. For her, my heart aches.

Ok, rest of church stuff (I'll slowly work away from the maudlin) - Book Club in church on Sunday. We read Peace Like a River. A good book, liked by all, easy to read. It's kind of fun to be in two book groups - in the one I get to read a ton of different novels and meet and eat with my girls (shout out to my "peeps" in NQBC) and in the other I get to have a small group but hear the boy's point of view, since it's a mixed crowd. Interesting discussion, there. Quite a bit tamer, too.

Monday saw me back in church for a pastor-parish relations committee. Not a bad one, since we mostly worked on plans for our current minister's going-away party and the new minister's welcoming party. Long discussions about cake ensued. I am doing the food for the new minister's party, and since there will be no kids, I am planning a spread of yummy hors d'oevres and salads. We'll have the meat and cheese tray thing the week before for the going-away party. I can hardly wait. In case you didn't know, I love to cook up a storm, and I don't entertain much (thank you cats) so this should be fun.

Speaking of fun, I suppose I should recount at least one story from work, eh? Especially since I missed my Friday deadline (tell the truth, are you really surprised by that fact?).

To tease you a bit, though, I am going to do a little plea, again. Please don't bring your kids along to the vet. They interrupt important talks about health care when they start swinging like little monkeys on the exam table, or start kicking their brother in the head, or flick the lights on and off to the point that Danny Tario (sp?) will pop out of the woodwork.....

Ok, this week at work was crazy, and so were the clients. My favorite client this week was a woman who brought in her tiny pomeranian. You know the commercial that says something like "people who love their pets this much don't shop at grocery stores" - well, she is that skinny woman who is doing her hair like her dog's hair. This woman and her dog both had little pink bows in their hair, which just happened to be a bit blond with blonder streaks, just like a pomeranian....and she talked in a little squeaky voice, and they were both wearing pink - the dog's collar and her shirt were almost an exact match. They also both have the same IQ score. Match made in heaven.

Not that funny, I know, but I just wanted to let you know that Best in Show and those commercials aren't really a stretch...those people do exist!!

As a final question this morning - did mint green shiny eye shadow make a reappearance that I didn't know about? Three or four middle aged women have been in my office this week sporting this new shade. Is it spring? Is it a trend? I thought frosts were supposed to make one look older...should those of us over the age of twenty-one be using such stuff? Where is the fab five when I need them?

Ok, enough. Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!