Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-10-20 - 4:19 p.m.

Ok, don't keel over dead that I am writing an entry - I had good intentions, and now a swift kick in the ass from my friend KitchenLogic!
So many things new on this front, I don't even know where to start. Since that is the case, I'll just give big highlights - and since it's been so long, I don't remember (and I am too lazy) to look up names I gave things and such, so everyone will just have to get used to the players as they stand from here on out.
On the home front:
Scott and I are officially infertile, I guess you would say. If we want to do IVF, I have to lose some weight - yeah, yeah, yeah, what's new about that? Well, it turns out I learned a lot about PCOS from my new infertility guy, and although I knew it was a precursor to diabetes, I never knew it was a precursor to uterine cancer. Unfortunately, I DID have the feeling the best way to keep it under control was to be at my goal weight (sigh) so that continues to be a goal of mine.
In the meantime, we can still adopt!! This week saw us both at a conference for couples considering adoption (and I did a little tap dance of joy that we finally got the ball rolling) and the end of the morning we got to listen to a panel of people who have adopted children from other countries. It was emotional and exciting - we are both psyched right now. We have decided Russia or China, since both have cool places to visit and the wait time isn't too bad. Couple that with the strong programs our agency has with them, and voila - off and running. I probably jinxed something by asking for books about Russia and China for Christmas, but what the hell?
On the church front:
We are officially closed. Jeez, I cried a lot that day. Some relief, too, but still a lot of emotions. It still seems a bit surreal, since it's only been three weeks, but I miss a lot of my pseudograndparents already.
Family:
My sister delivered a healthy girl, Camille, and they are planning on visiting me this weekend!! I have already seen her twice (she's in Chicago, I'm in Mpls - you do the math) since her birth in September. And although I am undoubtedly biased, she is a cute baby. If I ever learn to put pics on this thing (and believe me, this is the only thing that would likely motivate me to learn to do so) then I will display the cuteness that is my niece!
My mom has a hole in her heart. After a weird, strokelike incident that was likely a small blood clot, she went through a few tests and ultrasound revealed a hole - she is going to have it repaired at Mayo so she is going to Rochester in December for a couple day session of testing and consultation. Hopefully, if everything goes smoothly, she should be back to herself (and with better circulation at that) and off all meds by next summer. I told her she has to take care of herself, cuz none of us can take care of my father and cousin properly, and heaven knows those two shouldn't be left on their own!
On the work front:
Same old, same old - need a new career, crazy-ass clients keep showing up (with and without their teeth this week), one of my coworkers left (sigh, my favorite one, too) and I am looking at perhaps moving to a new hospital this spring if things play out well.
Ok, the book is done. I am letting you all absorb. I am leaving now....
Oh, yeah, all the cats say hello, too - we got our money's worth out of a vampire costume (again, if I ever figure out the picture thing...)
Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!