Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-12 - 7:38 p.m.

Wow, two whole days in a row! You lucky little rat bastards (one of my favorite sayings - I always imagine tiny little rats running around).

Today was a lot of fun. I went to church - very painless and I got out of there in decent time. I hopped back in the PT Cruiser and headed home to pick up my husband and then set off for my in-laws for a feast. We brought along some salmon and some artic char (both dee-lish on the grill) and had some steak, too, courtesy of Jeannine and Richard (my parents-in-law, in case you didn't know). Now I'm back home and have successfully designed my veggie and herb garden. I can hardly wait. Scott and I got a tiller yesterday and Wednesday I'm tearin' up the place! I need to, as I have several more veggies ordered and on the way.

I know you'll all be happy to know that the front yard is doing well. All the plants came back up (sorry if I told you all this before; I'm getting forgetful in my dotage) except for the dianthus (too bad, though, I think it was my favorite). On a good note, too, is the bush I thought was dead has new leaves and should do ok. Hope so, the duck nesting underneath it could use some shade this summer. Yes, I said duck. She's been there next to my front door for about a month. She never moves, but her position keeps changing so I assume she's alive and well. Scott and I have been dumping a few bread crumbs for her and they have disappeared so someone is eating them.

On a bird note - I purchased a beautiful hummingbird feeder in the shape of a glass chile pepper. That goes up soon. I have to figure out what goes in it - I think just a glorified simple sugar solution. I also got a bird bath I can screw onto the deck and a hanger to hang my other feeder off the deck. That way, no bird poop or seeds on the deck. I'll have to mulch underneath the bird feeder, though, or I'll have sunflowers galore. The squirrels will be happy, though.

Well, on to more garden planning. I want some lilies around the deck and I have to figure out what to do with the deck furniture I have - I think a couple of cans of spray paint could work wonders!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!