Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-03 - 12:43 p.m.

Well, back to the diary - sorry for those of you reading, that it's been so long. I know, I know, I promised to keep up and failed miserably. Since it's been a while, I may repeat some today but here goes...

My sister's wedding was great - I love visiting Vegas, anyway, but it was a lot of fun to run around and take pics at the hotels when we were all dressed up. Emeril's Fish House was the greatest afterwards and then we had a good trip home.

Since then, I've been busy with church, primarily, it seems. We had a Blessing of the Animals Sunday on May 19th and it went over great! I took my friend, Deb's, guinea pig (in case I've never mentioned it, I LOVE guinea pigs!) and there were several dogs and a couple of cats there as well. The animals were better behaved than the people. We sang a couple of goofy animal songs and had a short sermon and then ate a bunch of food and talked. The day was gorgeous and a lot of fun.

Our bedroom furniture is gone - got rid of Scott's stuff. We donated it to a shelter for women that is low-income housing, a nice condo with three bedrooms for a woman and her six children. In church this Sunday Faye announced that they were all moved in and when the woman came into the house, saw that not only had it been furnished but had silverware, towels, utensils, etc, she broke down and sobbed. It makes me feel really good to have been a part of that. Not to mention, that furniture will get better use and not just thrown away. Now if I can find a home for that futon...

Last week was the Annual Minnesota Methodist Conference. Three days of a lot of Jesus - well, a lot of sermons and praying, anyway, as well as a lot of legislation. This year we talked a lot about health insurance on one hand, and the Middle East Crisis and the MN Methodist stance on it. After what seemed like hours hashing out the details, the two issues were resolved and we even got to leave a little early on Saturday. We even balanced the budget and came in under cap - take that, US Congressmen!

The best part of the whole seminar was a man named Dr. Eugene Lowrey. He teaches at a university somewhere (Kansas, I think) but does conferences and has some cd's. He did a speech on the link between the church and jazz, and a second speech on the theology of the blues. What a funny, entertaining, gifted musician! I'd see it again. I'm getting his cd's and some for my parents as well. Just downright funny.

Well, work is tremendously stressful in some ways right now. My boss is a freak and our new office manager has somehow managed to enrage every tech on the staff with her scheduling changes (why they needed much beyond a tweak is up for grabs, but somehow she felt the need to do a complete overhaul). Every single tech came to me about 10 days ago (one at a time throughout the day) and asked for help with the situation. Then I was gone for several days so we'll see how things fall out. I really like our tech staff right now and frankly, Jayne (with a "y") is irritating me at the moment. We'll see.

Speaking of work, it's about time I quit rambling and headed back to it.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!