Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-01 - 7:14 p.m.

What a long-ass day today. It started at five o'clock this morning when we got up to go to Chicago O'Hare and fly home so that I could work today. Ahem. Yes, I said work. My boss is out of town so we are one doctor short, not allowing me to take extra time this weekend. I'm ok with that. I'm not ok with the fact that we got an extra doctor in to work today so I didn't really have to come back. I could have got some sleep, had breakfast and lunch with my family and then come home. Scott had the day off. My sister and family had the day off. Again, suckola.

To top it off, today at work sucked - sucky appointment after sucky appointment. I hate my job. Luckily, my husband said last week, "Honey, you have done nothing but complain about your job for the past few months, you should get a new one."

Done. The resumes get printed and go out on Wednesday. I just have to be at my job a couple more weeks to get reimbursed for my continuing education, then I'm outta there. Of course, I have to find a new job first. I will try the vet field and continue there, but I'm also going to send several resumes to schools that teach vet techs and/or biology, chemistry, etc. I've even tutored those areas and have taught some lab courses, so maybe that'll pan out. I think I'd like it a whole lot more than the vet scene. We'll see.

This last weekend was great. Not only did I not have to work, but I got to do some fun stuff. Friday Scott and I flew to Chicago, had a great dinner with my sister and hubby, felt gross all night from something we ate, then got up and drove to Indiana.

We visited with Scott's relatives Saturday (mom's side) and Sunday breakfast (dad's side). LaPorte is a town that has some history and so do Scott's aunts. The funnest part was listening to how Scott's dad met Scott's grandpa for the first time. Naked. Yes, I said naked. Grandpa was just out of the shower when Jeannine brought her boyfriend home for the first time. Grandpa had no qualms about drying off over the heater, buttcrack naked. Some welcome. I give Richard full kudos for actually coming back. I give Jeannine full kudos for inviting him in the first place, as the naked thing happened all the time!

Sunday afternoon we tried to die of heat exhaustion at the Taste of Chicago with my family (parents, Dave, Jessica and Bud). Lots of excellent food, though. I love Italian ice. I love hushpuppies and other fried foods, too, but they don't love me. Sing with me folks, about the hushpuppy heartburn blues. Luckily, mom had tums.

Now we're back and the loads of crap I have to do are back on the old shoulders, here. I need to meet with someone about our finances and tax money (from the duplex - as in, can I roll it over into this house and not pay capital gains?). I need to get rid of some of the shit around here - the vietnam vets need clothing and I can supply it! Wednesday the people from the furniture store are going to come measure before ordering me any more furniture that won't fit. I also may be meeting with mortgage people to get a check to get new siding. All of these things are good, just extra crap I have to take care of. I wish I had a different job, then that stress would not be wearing me out. Soon, just hang on.

Well, enough whining for today. My husband bought a charcoal grill today and is putting it to the test. The sweet, sweet man is cooking me steaks tonight. I'd better go thank him!

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!