Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-08 - 8:45 a.m.

What a lazy bumkus I've been the last few days. Especially 'cuz so much is happening.

My sister may have had West Nile Virus (ok, if she did, she still has it until her system clears it out). I got a call a couple of days ago from my mom saying Jessica was in the hospital. WTF? Did they actually call me on the day she went in? No, they waited until late the next day. She had a spinal tap (not nearly as fun as the movie) and it was determined she had a viral meningitis. Nothing but supportive treatment from then on out. The Center for Disease Control gets into the action, comes out to interview her and such. The guy from CDC looks at her questionnaire thing and says, "You either have a high tolerance for pain or you're just being nice, but I suspect this 8/10 rating on your headache is low. Don't you feel like the girl on the Excorcist when her head is spinning?"

"As a matter of fact, I do," replies my sister.

Supportive care means a lot of pain meds and some antibiotics for secondary infection. She went home the next day and has been sleeping a lot, drinking a lot of fluids, taking it very easy. She overdid it a bit on Friday and when I talked to her yesterday she was then punished with a severe headache and had to spend most of yesterday in bed. Slow down, Sis, we are going to Europe at the end of the month and you need to be in good shape. I can't handle our family all by myself!!

Friday night I went out. Out with several people from my old job. It was the only night we could get together and darn it, I was supposed to go to my wine-tasting club. I had a great time, though. Drank a few too many margaritas. Was so dead on my ass the next day - thank the lord for my receptionist, whose goal in life is to get done on time. No funny scheduling stuff, no sick things squeezed in ten minutes before we're supposed to lock the doors. Unfortunately she is quitting to go work at another clinic (her replacement only has half of her brain cells, not really the good half, either) so I only get her a few more days.

Friday I had to see a rabbit. Not a good thing. Especially when the rabbit is almost dead. I kept him in the hospital and went to check on him about an hour later, after giving him some supportive care (remember, fluids, antibiotics...) and he was facing away from me. I thought I'd pick up the little guy and check on him. He stayed in the same position when I picked him up. Yep, rigor mortis. Poor little guy. I found out that I may be allergic to rabbits. After seeing him and handling him, I apparently rubbed my left eye. It swelled to the size of Texas. It wasn't even that red because all the edemetous fluid swelling the lids diluted out the blood flow. My lower lid went numb. It was GROSS! No more rabbits for me.

I got to see a ferret that afternoon. When I ask my receptionists why suddenly I'm seeing pocket pets, they said, "Usually Rick sees those."

Do I suddenly look like Rick? At least with the ferret, I knew what was going on. I don't know much about them, but I knew this one had a tumor that produces too much insulin, a common problem with middle aged to older ferrets. Hell, I even knew that at seven, this ferret was pushing her 90's in human years. She qualifies. She's on some meds now, hopefully to keep her feeling good for a while longer. Unfortunately, as you may know, there's no way to remove your pancreas and stay alive. Supportive care...

Yesterday after work my husband and I started scouting for a new entertainment center (after a nap, of course). We didn't find one, but we found a bar that is inspiring my husband to rip up the one we have and build anew. Cool.

We went out to dinner last night, then came home and layed around, watching tv. Exciting, I know. We watched the Man Show. I laughed my ass off. I realize it's totally gross in parts, but dear heavens, some of the bits they do make my sides hurt from laughing. The old guys in their polka band giving tips on masturbation. Need I say more. After that line you are either going to watch or make sure you never do.

Well, on that note, I must head off to church (now you see why I must attend regularly) and then I'm dragging my hubby out to look at one other store for an entertainment center. Then he wants to go to menard's to buy some paneling to nail on top of our old paneling. Should be exciting. At least we found one we agree on and it should look pretty good when done. Now if only those rat bastards who are supposed to side and new window our house would show...

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!