Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-23 - 10:59 p.m.

Well, I won't likely be around for a few days as I am OFF TO CHICAGO for Christmas!!! Can you tell I'm excited? I know, since my sister has access to the internet I should be able to get onto the site and update. However, due to the magical (or magnetic) field I cast around machinery (and yes, that does include computers) I cannot seem to access my site to update from any computer except this one. Go figure. Anyhoo, I will let you know if I made out like a bandit next week. I did get my gift from my hubby tonight (along with pretty, sentimental card) - a set of martini glasses and a decanter. The decanter has a beautiful berry in the bottom of it and the martini glasses are those cool ones that have no stem but rest in a glass bowl that holds ice. I would have used them tonight, but the stupid cats needed some plastic protectant for the carpet before we head off and leave them for several days (several days they may be tempted to poop in the corner, that is).

We had Christmas at Scott's parents yesterday. I got some awesome gifts - besides two terrific gift certificates (one to my hairdresser, and let me tell you, my hair needs cut and colored the minute I get back from Chi-town) and Barnes and Noble, I got some down pillows, cute little spreaders (you know, teeny knife things for parties and cheese and such) and some bundt cake pans. All in all, very good haul (and way too much spent on me!).

Before the Xmas celebration, my MIL and I went to "Christmas with Dickens" - a yearly event where the great-grandson of Charles Dickens recites (and acts out) the classic Scrooge tale. It was great! I want to learn to have tea properly (the one-man act was in a hotel ballroom full of little tables where we were served "high tea" - absolutely delightful). My MIL said she saw a group of women in Florida who belong to a Red Hat Club, where the initiates wear pink hats, then graduate to red hat status (although she didn't know if age or attendance or what got you from one level to another). I think it sounds like a lot of fun.

Well, I must be off to finish packing and getting ready for departure.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!