Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-01-04 - 7:45 p.m.

The last two days have been so busy, I think I would have lost my head were it not screwed on (although if you ask my husband, that's nothing new...).

Work has been a nightmare. Not only are we understaffed, we're swamped right now. Apparently all the pets got together and decided to get sick at the same time (or need vaccines at the same time). It doesn't help that all the kids are off school, so it's a great time to bring them along for a 20 minute session of hell, cramped into a tiny room (that the heater has decided to go on overload in) with a nervous, bitin' critter. Oh, joy, Ren!

Last night was a nice break - we had our wine club meeting and I got to drink a bit, eat some good food, and make some appetizers that were so darn cute. I think they looked better than they tasted, but others thought they were good, and hey, I got to use my new mini-muffin pan. It's made out of silicone (like those spatulas that don't melt) and it's flexible and nonstick, so you can just pop the little buggers right out. I put wonton wrappers in them to make little bowls for a shrimp mix in one set, and a veggie mix in another. I also made little tiny lime tartlets - whoo-hoo!

Today work was the same - sheer hell. Actually, it wouldn't have been too bad but I was under the gun for time (needed to get out of there on time) and the last appointment showed up 10 minutes before we were supposed to close (in other words, 1/2 hour late for their appointment). I think it's because the three 19/20 year-olds were out smokin' some rope, to tell you the truth. I realize I sound like a crotchety old woman talking about them youngsters, but really, could at least one of the three of you meet me in the eye when I'm talking to you? Not to mention, your dog is REALLY sick and you should be at the e-clinic, having care through the weekend. Oh, well, I did what I could for the little guy and hopefully got a little message across. Sheesh.

Then I ran (literally;) home and made some more appetizers (bless you, hubby, for making a lot of them before I got home - what a cute little cook I married!!), got my clothes together and headed off to an open house (where, might I add, there was already a plethora, yes, a virtual plethora of food already), then sprinted out of there, bought some pantyhose at Walgreen's, changed my clothes in a restaurant bathroom, and headed to a wedding, from which we just got home. How's that for a run-on sentence?!!!

Whew. I am laying around and doin' nuthin' for the next couple of days.

Well, now you know all that's going on. I am headed to the realm of computer games to zombie out (and also so I don't have to think of the messy kitchen upstairs that will NEED to be addressed some time tomorrow).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!