Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-04 - 11:26 p.m.

I am so very excited. I couldn't sleep two nights ago and I hope I do tonight! My sister is preggers!!

Of course, after answering excited "Are you nervous? Are you excited? What does Bud think? Have you called Mom?" sorts of questions from me, she had to move into her own set of questions, "When will you come here so we can go shopping? How many showers do you think I can have?" Ha-ha. Leave it to her to find a clothes or furniture related theme to this new area of life!!

Work is a bear. I can't wait for the end of the week. It doesn't help that church stuff has been so busy. Or that tomorrow I get more blood tests and next week have u/s and consult. I would very much like to have the same news Jessica had, but I don't know how soon that can happen. It's hard to not be a little jealous, but I must admit, deep down I am just so happy and excited it outweighs that little devil on my shoulder. Besides, she'll buy and get really good stuff for this baby and I'll have awesome hand-me-downs for my kids.

My grandma, of course, was very excited. Her second sentence (after "Whoo-hoo!!") was "We have to go get those cats from Cestelle's house."

To explain: My mother and father live in a college town in Iowa. They are pretty involved with an organization that helps students from other countries adapt and live in the United States. One of these young women settled down in said college town and married a man, wants to have a baby. Her mother in China has a superstition that living with a cat will prevent pregnancy (don't you young whippersnappers believe such a thing - you'll end up knocked up quicker than you can say "knocked up"). Since mother is coming to visit, girl must get rid of cat or mother will be upset, tear hair out, etc. My parents to the rescue! They have adopted the little kitty to their home. He came with his own bed, toys, etc, etc, etc. He made the resident cats jealous and slightly miffed at the neglect they had been living in for years and years! They had a revolt! No, just kidding, but the kitty did come with a lot of stuff (from his own room in his former home). He has adjusted to lower class life and his parents come to visit a lot. Mother is having difficulty getting visa to travel from China to USA, so Ancha will likely become a permanent fixture in my parents' home. They already are starting to love him a lot - all's well that ends well.

Speaking of ending, if you aren't confused with that little story, you must know me in person! I'd better head to bed.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!