Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-15 - 10:44 p.m.

I seem to be in a diary funk, without a lot to write. Maybe as I go along I'll think of some stuff. It's hard, after reading great diaries, sometimes, to enter your own stuff. It seems so hum-drum, so poorly explained.

I am irritated with my gp. I go to the doctor on Wednesday, get a script for blood pressure meds, and then find out the next day at the ob/gyn that the previous doc had prescribed the one class of drugs not safe for pregnancy, although I told him I would be having kids (and since I'm not that old, anyway, wouldn't you, in good concience as a doctor, ask - you know, the way they ask every girl over 10 if they need birth control and push tetanus shots on you as well - I know, good health and all, but shouldn't he at least ask?). So I call on Friday and ask for a new script, ok, then go to pick it up. Yes, he found a new class of drug to give, but it only has one safe drug in its group and I was not assigned that particular drug. Did I somehow miscommunicate? I said SAFE FOR PREGNANCY. It's not that I'm pregnant now, but if Scott and I start trying, I don't want to shuffle meds at that time in an effort to keep safe. Aargh. I don't do this to my clients, and I sure as all get-out have never prescribed a second drug that is not safe for an animal when the first proved not to be so good. So now I must call again and ask for another prescription. Unlike my good friend lorisor, I did not even leave the store before getting my money refunded (I think it's a lousy pharmacy policy, esp with that kind of cost - I don't think I even have antibiotics that cost $130 for a twelve day supply, even for a Russian wolfhound!!). I will call my doctor on Monday, sigh, and perhaps see a different physician in this little family group the next time I go. I like the guy and he did a great job sewing up my finger last fall, but less than stellar on this whole blood pressure thing. It is going to give me a stroke. Then I'll talk like that guy on Legends of the Fall, perhaps while someone sticks a cigar in my mouth. If I'm really lucky noone will brush my hair, either (sorry for all you fans, but that movie blew; was it me, or did that little cemetery fill quickly?).

Wine club was a lot of fun. I got a tip - I don't like Bordeaux, much (and red wines give me a little stuffiness and headache, anyway, so no skin off my nose) and I got good gardening advice and had good talks.

I had a pretty good day, today, as well. I found some paperwork for taxes that was floating around, but unfortunately, not the f'n papers I wanted. Damn taxes. I realize they are a necessary evil, and if I was more organized, I wouldn't mind them one bit, but sad to say, my organization skills wouldn't allow you to find a cow in a haystack, much less the proverbial needle!

Well, I'm off to bed. We're having Shamrock Sunday tomorrow (no, we're not Catholic, just fun-loving Methodists - although I was vetoed on bringing in Bailey's for the coffee) and I'm bringing the stuff for Shamrock Shakes (don't tell McDonald's).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!