Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-03-23 - 7:43 a.m.

I know I said this week would be a lot slower, allowing me time to stay home with my hubby and do some things around the house, but...

Ok, I did all those things. Slacked off here a lot. Read my buddy list but did not do much for entering. A few things have happened since Monday:

1. Cat got an internship. Yes, I work with a doctor named Catherine, whose nickname is Cat. Although you might think it cute, I find it a little pretentious and sometimes it drives me nuts. I like her, though (not as much as another doc I work with - thank goodness she's not leaving), and it'll be a rough time with one less doctor at work. Wait until May, folks, if you want to see the explosion of myself when I have too many fish to fry!

2. I went to a bead warehouse sale. It was terrific. I spent too much money (although I came very close to spending what I had planned - damn them for giving me a coupon to the regular store as well!). I got some pearls this time - they're beautiful and as spring and summer are coming, I thought I'd better make some things that don't revolve around whatever black beads I have at the moment. At the regular store I bought my uncle a nose (yes, a nose) for his glasses. It's black with a blue base and a ring in the left side. Totally cool. I still need to get my dad a gift for his birthday next week - he's incredibly easy to buy for because he likes everything, but hard to buy for because he has so much stuff.

3. I went to ww. I lost weight this week - go figure. It can only be because...

4. I started walking on Tuesday. I went for a little jaunt around the neighborhood (ok, a couple of little rings around the neighborhood - it's small). Wednesday I walked down to a coffee shop, drank a cup and then headed home. All before the ww meeting. I've slacked off so far the rest of this week, mostly because I figure I'm getting almost moderate exercise every day...

5. At work. Which has been nothing short of shitty the last three days. I have nothing but sick walking through the door. I have been putting to sleep everyone's best friend. I have crabby customers - you know what, I don't make the price sheet up, I can't make them less, yes, it's expensive to own a pet, especially a sick one. My boss has to pay for inventory, bills, the building, his staff and our benefits, and taxes. Since we are riding even right now, wage freezes and all, I suggest you don't complain about the price of things, or there won't be anyone here for you to complain to. Pets are a luxury, not something that is owed to everyone. Same with kids. We should probably make people take tests and get a license for either one. Whew, sorry about the high horseness this am. I just hate being told over and over that I'm charging too much, when I work for a clinic that is very reasonably priced for the quality of work we perform. Just because you have health insurance and your pet doesn't, doesn't mean that I'm getting subsidized somewhere. Besides, I have to buy my products on the human side, meaning we pay high prices but again, no help from any sector but our own to pay for it. Next time you visit your dentist, remember that he/she is paid at least twice if not three times more than I am. Remember your doctor is paid umpteen times more, your opthomologist as well. Obviously, if you want to alienate yourself from me, start complaining about price. Especially because I am constantly cutting what I charge (brief exams instead of full exams, throw in the nail trim/ear swab/skin scrape at no charge, etc, cut corners here and there) and I get into trouble for it (at my last job, I took a pay cut for it, since we were on commission; at this job I just get told that I'm not producing enough - hopefully I won't get fired). So there, enough is enough.

I don't even remember what number I am on. Yesterday was better after work was done - Scott and I went to Menard's and bought a new garage door remote so I would have one, too (yes, we've lived here for almost three years and never shelled out the twenty bucks!!) and some toilet seats. Oh, joy, we are fun-lovin', good timin' folks here. We then went to a dinner thrown in thank-you-ness by the minister who leads the church that rents our church out on Sunday afternoons. He is a really nice guy, and whoever was cooking for him is a goddess. She made fried chicken, potato salad, sweet potatoes, greens, mac and cheese, cornbread and peach cobbler (yes, they are a church comprised mostly of blacks - if it had been our church throwing this thing, nothing but hot dish as far as the eye could see...). I ate some of everything and then we hung out for a while, then I typed the church bulleting insert, and then Scott wanted pancakes so we went to Perkins, where I managed to down a salad and sandwich in no time flat. I almost exploded right there, but luckily the waitress brought our ticket, and after a brief stop at the grocery store for some things I have to bring to church today, we went home and loosened the old jeans. Actually, my jeans are in no way too tight any more, even with such a meal, which is a great feeling. I am also happy that I ate all that and felt stuffed and a little gross, rather than thinking, "Gee, I wonder if I should take home a piece of pie for later?"

Well, this is a tremendously long entry for me. I hope you forgive me for being so mad for a little of it. I needed to vent and this is as good a place as any I suppose. Now I must be off to church.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!