Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-04-15 - 8:56 p.m.

Wow, I just read my last entry. I should probably stop doing that. Kinda whiny, huh?

Well, this week it won't be much better. I am in sappy hormone land and I will likely cry if I keep watching Lifetime network and such. Actually, I think my hubby would just put himself out of his misery if I started on the Lifetime jag - he's a good guy, but really, there is a limit.

I have been very neglectful of my little diary. I have been running around waaaaay too much in real life and playing a lot of EQ with Scott as well. This makes me skim my email, reply as needed and quickly read through my regular journals, followed by the thought that I should update myself, followed by clicking on the game and off to kill a few things. Then we get done too late to do much and off I go to bed.

Then I get up in the morning, an hour before I want breakfast, to take my new blood pressure medication. Last Thursday, about noon, I realize that I am on fire from midcalf down. Really, it felt as though I was being baked (not in the good mary jane way either - probably a good thing since I was doing surgery!!). My legs were bright red. Oh, maybe medication, I think, and get up the next morning to take my meds and BAM! The legs look the same the next day, but late in the day start swelling some as well. Not good signs, boys and girls. So Saturday, after painting the church with legs the color of boiled lobsters and swollen as a creek's banks after spring meltoff, I decide not to take my medication. Sunday was a relief.

Side note here - my adorable husband actually got little ice packs for my legs on Saturday to cool them off - how cute!!

Monday I call my doctor. I have to go in - yep, good, cuz someone needs to see the swollen grossities that are my ankles. He says the veins and arteries dilate with the meds, hence the redness. Continue on this medication - I'm not allergic and my blood pressure is a little less. Second, I now must take a diuretic for a little while to keep the edema down and I can wear these fun Ted Socks to help push the liquid back up where it belongs. Ok. I can do that. What I can't (or, in reality, for vanities sake, won't) do is put my feet up higher than my heart for 10 minutes per hour that I'm on my feet. My clients, coworkers, and yes, myself would all get a good laugh at this every day. Right.

So, I will admit that today I feel a little better, because although the redness is present, it's not as hot; although the swelling is still present, it fluctuates and does not hurt. Hopefully things will continue to improve and I'll be off these things one day, or at least with no side effects.

I have to go to WW tomorrow - we'll see how much weight I've gained. When I fall off the wagon, I tend to crack a few bones, making it hard to catch up to the wagon to get back on. My little doc thinks the water weight loss will be a few pounds this week, but I think he's blowing a little smoke, since I haven't had to visit the little ladies room more than before (I am, after all, used to drinking about a gallon of water a day, making me have a cast iron bladder at times).

Well, off to do some stuff around the house. I probably didn't mention, but on the day when we have to send about a bajillion dollars to the IRS, the pipe in the basement develops a leak (sounds like a bad country song in the making!!). So off, like a superhero with his trusty weapon, my hubby pulls out the roll of duct tape and some caulk, saving us hundreds of dollars in the short term and allowing me a little breather to do some financial catching-up. Again, I married a good guy. What can I say - patience is a virtue, and good things come to those who wait - hang in there ladies, he's out there (or she, as the case may be).

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!