Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-05-18 - 6:52 p.m.

Oh, them shrooms, them shrooms, them shrooms. As anyone who reads this knows, I love to cook and yesterday was a treat and a half because the day started with mushroom hunting and ended with morel delights tripping over my tongue. Also, the guy who took us out to the woods (woods right in the middle of town, about three blocks from the Mall of America) and who cooked us dinner that night, was a laid-back, music-listening, swearing, casual, drinkin' sort of guy. He is also a damn good cook. I will be frequenting Hell's Kitchen (his restaurant in downtown Mpls) in the near future. Just breakfast and lunch, and apparently the lemon risotto breakfast cakes are to die for. We'll see (and soon).

Yardwork is a difficult, dirty business. Shared by two lessens the load, but man, it felt good to take a shower yesterday afternoon. The garden is now a third done (raised bed and all). I am happy to report that this girl is not bad at math and figured 18 cubic feet practically to the inch, filling the bed without any extra bags needed or wasted. My herbs have all been transplanted and when I bring home some mulch, I shouldn't have to do much there for the rest of the summer (other than harvest goodies). Frankly, though, I don't use many of the herbs in the perennial garden - except the mint, for some reason. Oh, yeah, and Fred is reminding me that I should bring in catnip more often. The herbs I use a lot (basil, cilantro, dill and rosemary) are all on my patio in pots. Right now. Calling my name.

Can you tell I'm getting hungry and we'll be grillin' and chillin' soon? Hunkering down over our brats and corn on the cob, watching the latest on Six Feet Under. Hoping no more Harold and Maudeness and that SOMEthing gets resolved for at least one of the characters.

Speaking of characters (nice segue, huh?) - the ones in A Mighty Wind are fantabulous. Repeat, fantabulous. A quote from one of the folk songs:

"What if Noah had said No, suh?

We'd all be swimmin', breathin' through gills

Eating fish food instead of vitamin pills..."

And a joke by Fred Willard's character:

"I met this judge at a swinger's party last night and he says to me, 'I'd like to meet your wife' and I say to him, 'You're honor'"

Think about it. Yeah, we're pretty easy to please with our humor needs at this house. If you liked Spinal Tap, Best in Show or Waiting for Guffman, you will appreciate and like A Mighty Wind.

Well, I have to go make some dinner.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!