Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-09-02 - 8:01 a.m.

Weekend news update (insert the sound of typewriters and other clicky devices here):

We had a pretty good time at Valley Fair, I am happy to say. Ate some corn, rode some coasters, at a pronto pup, rode some more coasters... You know, the basics. I sat out while they rode the Power Tower - a horrifying ride that raises a platform of people (they actually sit around the outside of the platform) 275 feet above the ground and then drops them. It makes my legs hurt just to think about it (my legs hurt when I think about being at any great height - I figure if I ever get stuck on top of a cliff I'll just fall off and die because my legs hurt and then go kinda numb).

I got a little sunburnt. Then we went to the Renaissance Festival on Sunday, and I got crispy fried skin there. Ren Fest was a lot of fun. We walked, ate some mushrooms, watched some jousting, watched some juggling, ate some cheese curds and some scotch eggs and drank a little wine, had a little beer - a very good time was had by all. Now, unfortunately, the weekend takes a downward turn.

Some facts: Dave and Larry are friends of my husband's best friend, Rick. Rick, Dave and Larry go way back - back to Rick's very low time after his divorce - they pulled him through (along with some flights down from my husband) and he "loves those guys". You know, like men do. Shelley is Rick's wife and about six weeks ago they had twin girls (they also have a three year old). She is about an uptight a person as you can find.

Larry and Dave drove up here from St. Louis to see Dave's family and to see Rick. They brought their very nice girlfriends, Claire and Dawn. All of us went to Ren Fest, with some other friends, Kent and Julie (who also know Dave and Larry). Shelley stayed home because she doesn't trust her mother (who also stayed at home to help) with her children (her mom, the nurse, who raised two kids of her own....) or a babysitter. She always plays a little martyrdom card here and there, nothing new. We took three cars and on the way home, I managed to take a wrong turn (in Albequerque) and we were late getting back to Rick's. He met us at the door, wouldn't let us in, shut the door behind us and proceeded to break down and cry because of the grief his wife and mother-in-law were giving him over going out that day.

That may not sound like much, but it was heartbreaking. Scott said it is the first time he ever saw Rick cry - this has been hard on him and it makes me crazy angry at Shelley. This is one of the two days of the year that Rick looks forward to - Ren Fest and Smelly Man Weekend. He doesn't go out. He works overtime to keep his job although he is salaried. She is a stay-at-home mom and when he gets home, the kids become his responsibility. He is getting roughly four hours of sleep a day right now and he is entitled to a day with his friends. Very good friends, who have not seen him since 1997. What a selfish bitch. If it wouldn't make his life even more of a living hell, I'd tell her so. I have tried to keep my mouth shut, because she IS the mother of his children, and because Scott is always a little disapproving of me talking about his friends' women (do you wonder why? Hmmmm?) but even he has now had the proverbial straw dropped on his back.

Gah! I'll stop now. I have to be getting ready for work anyway. Oh, yesterday? Just layed around all day. Did a few dishes and played on the computer and watched some tv. A great way to end the weekend, might I say. Today will be a day from hell (it IS work, after all) and then I have tomorrow to get ready for the cabins, work a little Thursday and then we're off!! What a good week.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!