Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2004-02-04 - 9:08 a.m.

Oh, it's so very cold here. And from a person who is normally at ease in any low temp arena, that is saying a lot.

Well, my church is closing. I don't know if I talked about this before, and I'm too lazy to go look and see if I did, so you may be getting a rerun right now. Skip down if that's the case.

I love my church in many ways - truly I bitch and moan a lot here, but that's what this space is for, right? It is a small, small congregation, but they are my secondary grandmas and grandpas. However, they have grown just a bit older every year and there is no way they can keep a historic building with a bad heating system up to snuff. And I can't do it either (not only cuz I am so NOT mechanically inclined, but I just don't have the full time energy that building takes). That being said, I hope we can sell the building to another church, because the thought of it being torn down breaks my heart. Ok, enough about church - it's a little depressing, well, except for Mr.Show's take on it - the Swear to God network (and if passing this on doesn't end me up you-know-where, then I don't know what will). "God called himself the Lord and the Light - why didn't he just say 'I'm King Shit of Fuck Mountain' and say 'I damn thee Satan, you #(*#%(#&@$&(#*&(*#&$(*#&(*#@!^!#@^#(&'"

Scott and I laughed our proverbial asses off at that little sketch. The rest of it is pretty damn funny, too. Mr. Show, the third season. Don't get me wrong, I think a couple of sketches were inspired by Mary Jane, but overall it rocks!

Last church bit - I'm standing there on Sunday, getting ready to partake in the lovely pot luck that was happening, when I see a cat, yes, a cat, run through the room and lodge itself under a stack of chairs. I turn to the pianist and ask, "Was that a cat?"

She sighed and said, "I bet that was Batman."

"Batman?" I ask, amazed she even knew the name of said creature.

"Yes, Crazy Woman's cat. Sometimes he's up in the sanctuary or balcony roaming around while I'm practicing."

Who knew? Apparently Batman likes to ride in cars and comes with Crazy Lady to church from time to time. Crazy Lady's mother has a key to the church and picks up the mail and such, so apparently Crazy Lady and her cat come along, too. You see why I like my church? You see? And remember, those crazy people then bring their animals in to see me at work, too. Sigh, I get it no matter where I go.

Until later.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!